2001-09-15

More

As insensitive as this may sound, I'm really glad it's Saturday.

Yesterday was my birthday, and I woke up just completely exhausted and sad and wiped out. And that's just from watching the news; I cannot even begin to fathom what it must be like for her. Or her. Or her.

I didn't want to deal with work, with producing reports and walking my co-workers through the new fundraising software we've installed. I didn't want to get dressed, do something about the hair I'm trying to grow out, go to the ATM, nothing.

Most of all, I didn't want to go to band practice. If you're in a band, you might understand. It's like being married to four other people, and there are some days when all of the collective baggage and garbage and less-than-tolerable personality quirks of all five of us is more than I can possibly bear. A selfish thing to reflect upon in light of everything that's happened this week, but lack of sleep and media overload can do that to you.

But.

Dave got me a new Hall&Oates key chain to replace the one he bought for me last year (it's all scratched up from banging against my keys). Roland got me a box of BandAids. Tom and Chris drove me home, and on the corner of Walk Hill Street and Hyde Park Avenue was this gaggle of little Hispanic kids, holding candles and waving the flag. All the way up my street, votive candles on the sidewalks and porches. It was really something to see.

Tomorrow Paula and I are going to visit our friend Mikey at Spaulding Rehab to help celebrate his birthday.

It's all you really can do...be with your loved ones and remind them that they are loved, even if you don't know them.

lisamcc at 10:11 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next