2001-08-09

Options

So, for the past three days or so I have been converting our department's hulking, clunky database from its archaic, DOS-based, no-longer-supported-by-the-company-that-bought-it-out software to a snazzy new program that runs off of � gasp! - a Windows/NT platform. Pretty goddamn snazzy, indeed, considering I work in the nonprofit sector and am currently toiling away in the basement like some number-crunching troll.

Man, I could never do this sort of thing all the time. By 9 PM on Tuesday, I was sitting there with the two other techs, in front of the server, sweating and looking for all the world like a sallow, oily gargoyle, hating computers and wishing that I knew absolutely nothing about them.

I am singularly ill-equipped to deal with that much cold, hard logic packed into so little a time period. It was enough to make me seriously consider one of two options:

1) acquire a crack habit.

2) slough off the whole deal, run away to South Dakota, change my name to Rhea and work in a Dairy Queen.

Both have their negative points, but really these are mainly cosmetic. Burn marks on my upper lip, or the inevitable snugness of my Dairy Queen-issued slacks once I'd become accustomed to having Blizzards� for lunch every day?

Of course, this is all a moot point now, since the conversion is finished. And boy howdy, I am so in love with this new system that I'm almost enjoying my job again. Almost.

lisamcc at 11:47 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next