2001-06-27

Magic shoes

I was a having a terrible day up until about 5 minutes ago, when the most exquisitely awful pair of shoes came into my possession.

How bad are they, chickens? They're pale pink. They're neo-Victorian in that unparalleled mid-80's kind of way. Demure yet utterly trashy. Think Molly Ringwald. Think pairing them with slouchy white lace-piped socks and dancing to Paul Young records.

They are the shoes I could never have gotten away with owning 15 years ago. I doubt I'll be able to get away with owning them now. I don't deserve these shoes, but yet, as I slipped them on, the horror of my mundane accountant 9-to-5 existence evaporated like so much spilled nail polish remover. I can be the girl who the rich Student Council president has a secret crush on! I can mince in place to Bizarre Love Triangle and be utterly devastating while doing so!

They're the magic shoes, Mama...

lisamcc at 4:33 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next