2001-06-08

I know it means something dirty...

I got my dose of pop culture ranting early this morning, in the form of a phone call from my sister. I had been standing over the coffee maker, impatiently, when I took the call.

"Hello?"

"Hey."

"Whassup?" I dragged the phone across the living room to the sofa.

"Dude. Did you watch the MTV Movie Awards last night?"

"Some of it. I had band practice last night."

"What the fuck is up with Christina Aguilera?"

"Why?"

"Well, did you see her? She had, like, jewels hanging off her eyelids and crap! And way too much makeup. She looks more and more like a drag queen every time I see her."

"Huh. Yeah, I--"

"She outdrags drag! First she's got the cornrows, then she's sportin' that Dee Snider 'do. She's out of control!" There was a pause as she collected herself. "She's just...it's just so, so bad, Lees..."

"Yeah. At least with Britney, there's, you know, a sort of...wholesome...tartiness about her..."

"All of those �Moulin Rouge' chicks were such fuckin' tarts! Did you see that?"

"Nope. I've seen the video, though..."

"That Pink girl scares me. She looks mean..."

"Aw. I like her..."

"She brought her dog to the show with her. And Beyonce Knowles was interviewing people on the carpet, right? And so she starts asking Pink about �Lady Marmalade.' 'Voulez vous coucher avec moi ce soir... I don't even know what that means,' she says, and then Pink says, �Oooo, I don't know either, but I know it means something dirty.' Were they serious?!"

"Hm. Hard to say. Aren't all those girls like 12 or something, though? I mean, I think Beyonce Knowles is only 19..."

"Dude. She's only 19?"

"None of those Destiny's Child girlies are over 20..."

"They look much older than that..."

"That's makeup, and...lighting..."

"Yeah, and they're 19 so they don't have to do anything yet about those bods."

"I didn't have a bod like that when I was 19." It's true.

lisamcc at 4:53 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next