2001-01-06

Crush Boy Pt. 2

La Comtesse wrote to tell me that the high school diary entries that I've been posting over the past few days are making her "ache with laughter." Me, I'm finding them riveting as all get-out. I know how everything turns out in the end, but as I'm reading them again, and gleaning choice quotes for your entertainment, I'm rooting for this little sixteen-year-old wanna-be skate-punk and her painful, unrequited love for Crush Boy. I want her to...blossom...somehow. I want Crush Boy to ask her to the prom. It doesn't happen, but things looked pretty hopeful there for awhile....

January 18, 1987: Keith and I were at the library tonight. Crush Boy sat down with us. We started talking about those "Who's Who in American High School" books. Crush Boy was saying that he was in one because of his PSAT scores. I said my mom was in one of those, too, and so was my brother - because he was this genius in high school and all. Crush Boy asked me if that made me mad. I said, "Well, I'm not mad at him - I'm just a little peeved that he got all the brains and I got, like, half." And then Crush Boy said, "Well, I wouldn't be mad, Lees - because you got the looks and you got the talent. You're pretty, and very talented." I nearly died! Then Keith said, "Yeah, and you got the breasts, too." Talk about destroying the mood...

Oh my God! He was sooooo nice to me! It was enough to make me wanna grab the latest issue of "Seventeen," to find me a Gunne Sax prom dress. I even considered growing out the mohawk my sister had given me in my parents' bathroom the week before...

February 3, 1987: Crush Boy is going out with Anna. But this doesn't really bother me. It should, I guess. I can't hope that they'll break up - I don't want them to. Anna is a good friend and I would never do anything to hurt her. They seem really happy together, so I guess it's all for the best. So ends the chapter of my life entitled "Life, Liberty & the Pursuit of Crush Boy."

Awwwww. But wait -- it gets better. Here comes the self-analysis!

...Maybe I'm not so crushed because I could feel myself drifting away from that "gigglegiggleSQUEAL" syndrome that I used to be so wrapped up in. I started to realize that Crush Boy was a person, and not some trophy with a plaque on it bearing the inscription: "This is what Lisa McColgan gets if she's really good and tries to prove to everyone that she is so capable of having a boyfriend -- nyah, nyah, nyah."

Oh. Our little girl is growing up...

lisamcc at 22:12:01



0 comments so far

previous | next