2011-02-03

The 108.

I have decided to give Twitter another chance.

Before some of you go rolling your eyes at me, let me explain.

I am setting up a Twitter account for the sole purpose of recording the snippets of conversation I hear on the #108 bus route from Linden Square to Malden Square. Think "S!#t My Dad Says," only with no expectations of it being picked up as a vehicle for William Shatner.

Those who are so inclined may check it out here: twitter.com/bus108

As a safeguard for my own sanity, and to manage everyone's expectations, I am laying down the Ground Rules as regards this page:

1) The line between the purpose of @bus108 and my "personal" interactions online must be clearly defined. I know many people with Twitter accounts prefer to communicate primarily through said Twitter accounts. Do not attempt to communicate with me through @bus108. You can call me, you can email me, you can get in touch with me via my Facebook page. I will be on Twitter just long enough to post whatever insanity I've overheard that morning and/or afternoon, and am forbidding myself to get sucked into the middle school maelstrom that Twitter tends to be.

2) @bus108 cares not about Twitter popularity. @bus108 is just here to report the facts as it overhears them. @bus108 will follow one Twitter page and one Twitter page only: @mbtaGM. If you care to follow @bus108, fantastic. Welcome aboard, and please move to the back to make room for others. But if you are the sort to get all piffy if you follow someone's Twitter and that someone doesn't automatically follow back, then don't follow @bus108. It's nothing personal.

3) Even though you know it's me behind the wheel, kindly don't respond to "my" tweets as if you know I'm writing them. @bus108 will not interact with you, respond to your tweets, or retweet links to your blog and/or poetry. See 1).

That's it for now. Enjoy the ride, and make room for the strollers.

lisamcc at 1:15 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next