2010-09-02

Boxes.

Boxes. This is what my life is about right now.

(And before my husband, or any other member of the tribe, starts in on me -- yes, I am aware that I spelled "tchotchkes" wrong. Oy.)

There is no escaping them. It's like being a rat in a warehouse.

Honestly, this is the part about moving that I hate the most. Living around boxes. Putting more and more of your personal effects into boxes until all you are left with is your toothbrush, a coffee mug, and, well, boxes.

On a happier note, our new bed was delivered to the house. Oh God. I cannot wait to sleep on this magnificent, majestic thing.

Check it -- my mother-in-law is TOTES jealous of this bed. I am COUNTING THE DAYS until we can jettison our crappy old bed (aka Tha Spine Manglah) and sleep like the angels sleep. It takes up the whole bedroom, practically, but I DON'T CARE.

I guess I can handle living with the boxes for a couple more weeks.

lisamcc at 10:51 a.m.



2 comments so far
Jess
2010-09-02 16:34:38
I am SO feeling your pain, believe me. And, I'm very impressed with you. I haven't even REALLY started packing even though we're moving in 2 weeks. Ahhhhh! Also? I bought my first "real" bed in December, and I felt like a real adult. So, I hear you on that as well.
-------------------------------

Toddlington
2010-09-02 21:14:18
I bleed from the eyes, and other inappropriate orifices, for you and Houseboy. Y'know, the only real "fight" my husband and I have been in over our seven lovely years together, was when the new house renovations weren't ready on schedule, but we were living out of boxes for SEVEN WEEKS in the old house. Finding clean underwear was a 40 minute process. I called my contractor and told him, "We're moving on October the 18th. Focus all work on the back of the house. I can't live like this. I'd rather live in a construction site." Then Ben and I got bitchy with each other, for the first and only time in our history, and I blame the whole scenario on the angst, inconvenience and Dante'esque hell of living out of boxes. I mean, we survived Katrina together, but we almost couldn't survive living out of boxes. So, yah, I bleed for you. In my pahhhhhnts!
-------------------------------

previous | next