2010-08-16

Updates.

Wait...where was I?

A lot going on. We bought a refrigerator and a stove this weekend, as well as a new bed. Move To The Burbs 2010 is underway, sort of. I haven't packed a single box yet, but I'm THINKING about it, okay? I'm just not relishing living like a warehouse rat for six weeks.

I can't stop watching the trainwreck that is Tila Tequila. I KNOW I said that I'd stop rubbernecking this ho, but it's just so MESMERIZING. And it keeps me from having to think about packing. The latest, in case you care, is that she "performed" at the annual Gathering of the Juggalos (and if you want a nice pre-Halloween scare, do an image search on "Juggalos"), and got a lot of stuff thrown at her. And that, chickens, will be the last time you see "Tila Tequila" and "Juggalos" mentioned on my site, at least until the appearance of the Four Horsemen, two of which I'm pretty sure will be Juggalos wielding giant bottles of Faygo.

I was in D.C. most of last week. Actually, that's not true -- I was near D.C. National Harbor, MD, to be exact. It was terrifying. National Harbor, I mean. It's everything that's wrong with real estate development. It's a creepy "city" consisting mostly of giant conference hotels, chain restaurants, and "luxury condominiums." Not surprisingly, Disney is going to be building some sort of AmericaDisneyWorldHole there. And that's good, because National Harbor will be the perfect home for its audio-animatronic robots.

I didn't venture out into National Harbor much, as I was once again trapped in a Gaylord hotel, much like the one I was trapped in two years ago.

As with any soulless architectural blight, one's first reaction is stupefaction. You're impressed, for a second. Then you start looking around for the soma tablets.

I was definitely looking for entertainment in the midst of breakfast buffets, outfit-destroying lanyards, and "networking," and found it in the Blatant Misuse of Conference Materials:

I never said I WASN'T perpetually twelve years old. And you get...punchy...at these things. Day in and day out of dutifully trooping into a giant ballroom for meals, and being on your best behavior, and having your bed made for you. It's not NATURAL.

But I did look wicked nice the night they let us leave the compound to go to the Kennedy Center.

lisamcc at 2:09 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next