2010-06-02

Crawling like a centipede...

Ah, summertime. My prescription sunglasses are ready, and I get to go pick them up today. I made the first mango-and-black-bean salad of the season, had my first watermelon of the season, and bought me another volume of what is probably going to be my "required reading" this summer (and by the by, fellow zombie nerds, production on the AMC series began in Atlanta today....here's hoping zombies topple vampires for television ratings). We're going to Ogunquit again next month, Crowded House is playing at the House of Blues, I get to hang out with database geeks in D.C. for a few days in August, and all told, it looks like it's going to be a swell summer.

Except.

Oh, God. Even posting that picture just made me want to HURL.

Do you find it funny that I am all about zombies and grossout special effects, and yet I cannot stomach centipedes? I guess it's funny. All I know is that I CAN'T STAND THEM, and the mere sight of one throws me into alternating paroxysms of screaming and gagging.

It's not that I'm afraid of ALL BUGS. Indeed, I consider myself friend to insects as a general rule. Even spiders don't freak my shit. I think that's because of "Charlotte's Web." Honestly, if E.B. White had created a sympathetic centipede, we might not be having this conversation.

Centipedes are horrible. HORRIBLE. Foot Foot and Mephisto would be all too happy to take care of them for me, but I'll tell you -- the only thing worse than finding a centipede in the bathroom? Finding HALF A CENTIPEDE in the bathroom.

God. I can't even talk about this anymore. I seriously want to throw up.

lisamcc at 3:18 p.m.



1 comments so far
Lexi
2010-06-02 20:55:23
I know why. A cartoon drawing of one, from the side, would look exactly like a scrubbing bubble.
-------------------------------

previous | next