2010-05-11

Day Two

So. Day Two of Eating Kinda Clean.

No withdrawal headaches yet, but there have been gastrointestinal utterances like the faint rumbling of a distant storm. Or bowling gnomes. Yeah, let's go with those. Maybe I should have invested in one of those Better Marriage Blankets before embarking on this.

Some of you have been suggesting supplements and such, bless your hearts. And while I am certainly intrigued by Bridget's suggestion that I take pascalite caplets, which will apparently "draw out toxins and embedded fecal matter," I don't think I want to add this to the current intake schedule just yet. I'm looking for "dramatic," not "traumatic."

I feel less "bloated" today. And so far, I haven't had any overwhelming cravings. I, well, KNOW a thing or two about addiction at this point, both physical and psychological. You can keep either in check. When I was first getting sober, I learned that an urge itself is nothing to be terrified of. You simply don't have to act on it. For me, it became like taking apart a telephone to see how everything connected. What am I feeling right now? What's that connected to? Where did THAT come from? I'd wind up finding it so interesting, that I'd almost forgotten to be stressed out about it.

So, do you want to know what I've eaten so far today? OF COURSE YOU DO!

Breakfast: Trader Joe's Fiber O's, almond milk, coffee, multivitamin

Snack: handful of dried apricots

Lunch: low-carb whole wheat wrap, 2 tbsp kalamata olive hummus, baby spinach, apple

Snack: Think Thin bar

I went to the gym, too. I have these "bio-ceramic" shorts that are supposed to aid in making the backs of my legs look a little less like a ricotta pie that's been dropped from a great height. What I can say for them is they make you sweatier than a glassblower's arse, so maybe you feel like you've accomplished something. Dunno.

Off to chug some more water...

lisamcc at 1:09 p.m.



4 comments so far
Lexi
2010-05-11 18:16:29
How are the Think Thin bars?
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2010-05-11 18:40:56
They're not bad. They're sugar, wheat, and gluten-free, so if you're looking for something that approximates a candy bar, don't go there. As a meal-replacement that doesn't taste entirely like sawdust, they're pretty good.
-------------------------------

Christy
2010-05-12 18:31:09
Which flavor(s) have you tried? I looked at their website & was thinking those would be good for all my airport meals.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2010-05-12 18:37:53
I've tried nearly all of them. The "chunky peanut butter" one is the best.
-------------------------------

previous | next