2010-01-26

Checking in

Yeah, I'm still here.

It's been an odd last few days. Lots of hand wringing on one side, and gloating on the other. And nearly everybody on BOTH sides bandying about terms that they don't fully comprehend, or else they wouldn't bandy them. It's wearying. It's discouraging. And we're not even a month into 2010.

Hunky Scott Brown won the special election, and while I'm not exactly PLEASED about this, what most Dems don't seem to want to admit is that Coakley ran a sloppy, complacent campaign. If you were genuinely surprised by this outcome then you weren't paying attention. Which is exactly the problem. Capuano 2012. Just saying.

And then there's John Edwards. Good LORD, man, there is absolutely no benefit in doling out your dishonesty in digestible portions over the course of two years. John Edwards is like a kid with a Band-Aid, who peels away at it because he thinks it's less painful than just ripping it off. The Democrats have their dumb pretty boys, too. Just saying.

And don't get me started on the Supreme Court decision. If someone can tell me, without any trace of irony, how this is a GOOD thing, I'm all ears. As it stands right now I worry, as someone who works at a nonprofit, what this is going to mean in terms of charitable contributions to places like ours. This is more than a bunch of expensive television commercials, mark my words.

"I'm Ronald McDonald, and I approve this message."

Lest you think I've gone completely hard, I have been ravenously following this whole Tila Tequila/Casey Johnson story. Hell, I won't apologize for that. It's better than any soap opera.

lisamcc at 8:05 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next