2009-10-13

I love my Neti.

Here it is, just barely past Columbus Day, and I got me one HELL of a headcold.

I really don't like to resort to over-the-counter "medicine." I prefer to, if I can, let the gack ride its course while indulging in nothing stronger than VapoRub.

But sometimes I cave. I cave when it's 2 o'clock in the morning and I'm hacking away like a Dickensian orphan. That's when I will choke down some godawful "cherry"-flavored cough suppressant and pray for death.

I bought some of this today. I also bought a Neti Pot. My college roommate swears by it. Several of my friends swear by it. It's the biggest thing since teabaggers.

I was somewhat familiar with the concept, having had a professor in college who advocated stuff like sweatlodges, and tofu, and water up the nose. But I'd never actually tried the water up the nose thing back then. I was too busy smoking reefer and eating my weight in PopTarts.

The Neti Pot. It cleans out your sinuses, clearing all manner of nasty blockages. It will make you wonder how you ever lived without it. The Neti Pot. It comes with a whole mess of saline solution, and a cute li'l spoon.

You take the li'l spoon and mix the li'l packet of saline solution with warm water in the cute li'l pot. You would think you're making some herbal tea and getting ready to listen to Laura Nyro, instead of preparing to drive the snotbats out of the nosecave. Out! OUT!

This is the easy part. It's all good in theory, this talk of nasal irrigation, until you're confronted with the reality of it.

I followed the directions to the letter. I stuck the tip into my nostril, tilted my head just so, and waited.

By God, it worked. Water went in through one nostril and out the other, carrying with it some rather disturbing stuff.

I was utterly THRILLED.

lisamcc at 9:24 p.m.



7 comments so far
scurvyann
2009-10-14 03:20:16
HAHRhAHHR!!! that is EXACTLY the expression i had on my face when i tried it ...until something went horribly wrong, and i drowneded. (3 times!) the end! ps: i love the cute lil spoon too!
-------------------------------

scurvyann
2009-10-14 12:17:11
i needed a smile this morning, so i came here to look at your picture again. HAhrhHARHH!!!! i love it.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2009-10-14 13:45:25
I'll do what I have to do to get the laugh.
-------------------------------

Jess
2009-10-14 15:59:10
I KNOW, right?!
-------------------------------

Ska T
2009-10-14 21:53:10
"preparing to drive the snotbats out of the nosecave". Poetry.
-------------------------------

ed hardy bags
2010-09-27 01:47:53
Au printemps le fleuve d��borde, s'unissant �� la mer, De l'oc��an, la lune monte avec la mar��e; Scintillante,ed hardy suivant les flots sur dix mille lis, La lune glisse omnipr��sente le long du fleuve au printemps.
-------------------------------

spyder jackets
2010-12-21 03:47:23
spyder jackets are vital to keep your body warm and homelike during winter sports activities. Look for waterproof spyder ski wear,spyder pants for your nice grip
-------------------------------

previous | next