2009-10-02

Ten years.

It's October, 2009. This means that I have had this website for ten years.

I still clearly remember the day I decided to take this up. I saw a banner ad on another site and thought, "Well, this could be interesting." I had a site on the long-since-folded chickpages.com server, and thought this would be an interesting supplement to that page.

I never intended this to be what it ultimately became.

For you younguns, understand that in 1999, there was no such word as "blog." There weren't a great many people using the internet in that capacity. For me, it was perfect. I could blather on about my cat, my friends, what I was watching on tv, and how hungover I was from the night before. And I did just that, for about 2 1/2 years.

And then I realized I needed to stop drinking.

I really agonized over whether or not to talk about this here. My self-identity was so wrapped up in being an internet bon vivant and pop culture whore. I honestly did not know what would be left of me once I put down the bottle. And while I did end up losing a couple of readers as I slogged through all the crap that floats up to the top after you've flushed the alcohol out, most of y'all were really, truly awesome.

Ten years. I lost a kitty and gained a kitty. I wrote about huge things and, well, not very important things.

I've made near-disastrous personal choices and learned about taking responsibility for them. I've learned about loss and redemption and true friendship. And "mood dots."

I know a lot of you out there have been along since the very beginning. And some of you have just stumbled into this still-not-very-clearly-defined "blog" and have found it interesting enough to stick around. Thank you. Thank you for reading, for giving me advice, for referring me to strange and wonderful links, and for calling me on my shit.

Barring any unforeseen bus accidents, I think I'll stick around for another ten years.

lisamcc at 10:10 a.m.



5 comments so far
Spooney
2009-10-02 15:50:41
Congats on 10 years, Leez!
-------------------------------

Lynette
2009-10-03 04:45:04
I wish I wasn't such a recent addition to your groupies. I'm thankful for friends like you who claim me in public. I will always claim you.
-------------------------------

Jon Metters
2009-10-07 16:23:34
Keep a bloggin'! We love it. Especially the cat blog.
-------------------------------

Toddlington
2009-10-18 16:24:26
Yikes! Next month is my ten year anniv's as well. It's been worth it, if only for all the amazing people in my life that came from this bloggage. Like yewww, my chicken. I toast you heartily with apple juice.
-------------------------------

Toddlington
2009-10-18 16:26:21
Oh, and you KNOW how happy it makes me when you link to the Raisin Bondage entry. One of my favorite blogs from anyone in the last, well, ten frickin' years I guess!
-------------------------------

previous | next