2009-04-30

Out in public.

PK was in town for an oh-so-brief stay, so a bunch of us got together and dropped a big ol' wad at Cuchi Cuchi. I had kind of mixed feelings going in, since a) Cuchi was a fave of mine when I was still drinking and I hadn't actually set foot in the place since I quit, and b) it was to be my and the houseboy's first public appearance since the whole "we're getting divorced!/no we're not!" dramuhz.

Happily, we had a lovely time. Nancy and Bridget and Tom were there, and Ad showed up a bit later, and the lovely Miss Shari was there as well. And Cuchi's will happily make nonalcoholic versions of many of the drinkies on their cocktail menu, so I had me a "virgin" Black Dahlia, giggling at the irony thereof.

I am, of course, always happy to see Shari, but what I particularly love about being out with her is that she's just about the only one who'll aid and abet my perverse VH1 "reality show" habit. At Cuchi's, we both agreed that Mindy should have won, we can't believe Frenchie has made it as far as she has, and that the Swedish Triplets may very well have been the only reason to watch "Daisy (Duck) of Love."

Izzi, Rock and Kelli were booted from the show before the first episode even finished, because it was suspected that they weren't "there for Daisy." But then who in his right mind would honestly be "there for Daisy," I ask you? Because one look at Daisy de la Hoya, and you want to scrub yourself with a Brillo pad soaked in Clorox. Without the Swedish Triplets, it's just a house full of big, dumb douchebags who would probably be off tinkering with their motorcycles and MySpace pages if they weren't competing to get into Daisy's scanty panties.

So Shari and I were deep into discussion about this, as well as the woman who gave birth to her baby in the toilet because she didn't know she was pregnant, when I looked over and noticed Tom staring at me, aghast, while the houseboy just smiled sadly, as if to say: "this is what I have recommitted myself to."

"Oh, stop it. Both of you. I have a fucking MASTER'S DEGREE in LITERATURE. I can watch whatever I goddamn want."

lisamcc at 7:35 a.m.



3 comments so far
Rebecca H.
2009-04-30 14:13:20
Daisy got her own show???? Oh damn. I might have to watch that so that I can stare in disbelief.
-------------------------------

shari
2009-04-30 14:44:57
I just love that the triplets were nick-named "84", "85", and "86"; because according to Ricky Rachman, "that's the last time it was okay to look like that."
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2009-05-04 22:05:12
Freixenet? They drink Freixenet? I think that might be the lamest thing I've ever heard.
-------------------------------

previous | next