2009-03-12

Is it the 21st yet?

I'm done. I am done done done with winter winter winter. Done.

I am done with opening the closet and being confronted with gray and wool and big-ass boots.

I am done with walking to the theatre from the subway station every morning and being confronted with this:

Even the most hardcore "get over it" New Englanders have had their spirits at least HOBBLED, if not entirely broken, by this suck-ass winter. Even those of us who remember the "Blizzahd" are hard-pressed to drag that up when people start bitching about how bad THIS winter has been.

Part of it, I believe, is the fact that this winter is happening in tandem with the economic shitstorm. I'd maybe feel a little less like a giant anvil on a frayed rope was looming over my head if I could go out and take a walk around Jamaica Pond without having to gear up like the Michelin Tire Man. I don't expect that things are going to change right away on the financial front, but I'd like to find small comfort in light jackets, ice cream eaten outdoors, and in putting my itchy wool socks in storage for a few months, anyway.

lisamcc at 9:53 a.m.



3 comments so far
scurvyann
2009-03-12 20:45:23
i hear ya. this one has nearly broken me. i wish mother nature would just cut the shit already! yesterday i looked at my street and wondered why it looked so different. most of the snow has melted (after being there for months on end.) it looked so foreign without gigantic piles of dirty snow!
-------------------------------

Stephen
2009-03-12 22:25:00
We don't have it anywhere even close to as bad here in Maryland, but even here it's been freakin' weird. At least you know what jacket to wear. Here it's 60 in the morning, then snow in the evening, then five degrees the next day, then 58 the day after that. It's like some kid messing with the thermostat.
-------------------------------

Jess
2009-03-13 19:24:17
We're having crazy weather too. It's 35 in the morning and 83 in the afternoon. I'm not even exaggerating! Might be normal for Texas, though, I don't know.
-------------------------------

previous | next