2009-01-12

The Globs.

I did a terrible thing.

I got sucked into the Golden Globes last night and didn't watch the new episode of "Rock of Love Bus." SO DON'T TELL ME WHOSE TOUR ENDS HERE, okay? I'll find out soon enough because that shit'll be on at least twice a day until next Sunday. I suspect that Creepy Belly Dancer Chick gets the heave-ho. BUT DON'T TELL ME.

Watching the Golden Globes is only slightly more cerebral. People tend to wear "riskier" red carpet ensembles, and they also get to drink during the show. But leave it to Angelina Jolie to bring the 'tude. You know what I'm talking about. That "I'm soooooo above it all" way she pushes her big ol' pillow lips out into some semblance of a smile. And she TOTALLY BLEW OFF RYAN SEACREST on the red carpet. Did anyone see that? Trust -- it was pure comic GOLD.

Beyond that, I can't say that I was too surprised. As with the Critics' Choice awards last week, "Slumdog Millionaire" is pretty much sweeping it all, and the Best Actress awards thus far, everybody loves Kate Winslet, and Brangelina are getting the SHAFT. All is right with the world.

There were only a couple of what I consider to be unmitigated disasters on the red carpet. First: Drew Barrymore.

I am a fan of the dress. It's ethereal and flattering and lovely. Props, too, to Drew for keeping the girls nice and supported this year. But the hair. My dear Jesus God -- the HAIR.

I think I SORT OF understand what she and her stylist were going for. But it's 25 minutes too much with the teasing comb and about three cans of Aquanet removed from "Old Hollywood Glamour." Unless they've interpreted this to mean: "stuck in a wind tunnel with a horny-but-nearsighted-Shitzu."

And then there's Renee. She usually does a bang-up job bringing the True Glam to an awards show. So I am at a loss to explain this outfit:

Some of you may be saying, "That's not SO bad." No. You needed to see this full-frontal. It's a lumpen, crinkly NIGHTMARE. But Renee was all, "Look how awesome my ass looks in this! See? SEE?!"

This has got to be some sort of cry for attention. It's the sartorial equivalent of dragging John Mayer out to The Ivy in the middle of the day.

Did I miss anything else? Do let me know...

lisamcc at 12:28 p.m.



8 comments so far
kellie
2009-01-12 19:48:57
I think JLo thought she was on Rock Of Love Tour Bus.
-------------------------------

Mel
2009-01-13 00:16:04
Maybe Drew got lucky in the Prius on the way over?
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2009-01-13 00:40:15
Mel -- you're right. It's total Sex Hair.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2009-01-13 01:45:17
Oh, I loved Drew's hair! So Angie Dickenson! But the girl should buy some lip gloss. Plus, why did Eva Mendes go to all that trouble, only to have the dress just not fit her at all on top? Weird.
-------------------------------

Jess
2009-01-13 03:25:18
I agree w/ Vikki! I loved Drew's hair. A little frizzy, yes, but I'm one to talk. Pibb thought I was insane for thinking so. He was also disappointed in Tina Fey for not wearing her glasses. Oh Angelina. Jesus, what a smug bitch! What else? Rock Of Love was pretty sweet, but next week looks like it's gonna be the "episode to watch!"
-------------------------------

gay boyfriend
2009-01-14 01:54:31
I thought Drew was going for Lee Remick in The Omen. Which I appreciated.
-------------------------------

PK
2009-01-15 08:47:26
I've been known to tease the bejeezus out of my hair, so I'm not really one to talk about La Barrymore. But Zellweger, holy SHIT. I mean, yeah, her ensemble was awful, but HER hair was the fuckin worst of the night. Though I guess its lumpen and nonsensical-ness did match the dress... Puke.
-------------------------------

Tina
2009-01-17 00:11:50
Why was I able to post a topic on your old message board???
-------------------------------

previous | next