2008-12-29

aught eight

So, what a year, right? I don't know about you all, but I'm about ready for it to be over. Boy howdy, some of it really sucked, but then if I think about it -- really think beyond the obvious crap like the tanking economy, the war, and the fact that Britney Spears got to record another "comeback" album -- it might well have been the best year for me in a while.

FRIENDS. I has them. Amazing friends. When I lost one at the beginning of this year, I found myself buoyed by others, some of whom I hadn't seen in years. We stuck real close, and laughed, and grieved. I can never quite explain what it means to me to have friends that have known me for most of my life. I take it for granted sometimes, like, "You mean you're NOT still friends with the people who saw you at your arguable WORST, and still like you anyway?" I can't fathom it. I would die if I couldn't talk to Jon. I was over at Chrissy's on Boxing Day. I get to touch base with Brian and Katie nearly every day.

And PK, my lovely, lovely vulgar rose. My gay boyfriend, John Michael. Vikki, who makes me think real hard. Emily, one year sober this month. Sooz and Lynette and my sister and my cousin Shawn. I want to carry them all with me in my pocket when I'm scared or sad, and I do.

FOOT FOOT. Let's face it -- she's the best thing that happened this year. I look at her and think, "Why do I get to have you?" She just appeared one morning in our backyard and decided she wanted to live with us. She's so funny and so crazy and she smells like God. Like a blanket fresh from the dryer. She SASSES us now, when we reprimand her. She looks at us in utter outrage and says, "MmmmmEH." I tell her if she's really that miserable here, she can always go back outside and live in the Carlysle parking lot where she came from. But of course I don't mean it.

YOOTOOBZ. The hits kept comin' this year:

(And can I say that I really sort of LOVE that Beyonce video without drawing nine kinds of ire from my friends?)

SOBRIETY. My pissy little entry the other day aside, sobriety rules. It really does. I recommend it to anyone who may be sitting there, looking into her third or fourth drink and wondering why she doesn't feel any better. I do not regret putting down that bottle for a nanosecond, and anyone who thinks I'm less fun for it can KISS MY SOBER ASS.

TIM GUNN. He makes ANY year work.

lisamcc at 7:56 p.m.



1 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2008-12-31 00:10:24
I will forgive you the Beyonce video - grudgingly! - since you always say such awesome things about me.
-------------------------------

previous | next