2008-12-15

Beat this!

I'm chillin' my dough.

The baking frenzy officially began this weekend, with several dozen cranberry-chocolate-chip cookies. Tonight, it's snickerdoodles. The dough must chill for a bit, then you have to roll it into little balls, coat the little balls in cinnamon and sugar, bake 'em for 4 minutes, TURN them, and bake 'em for another 4 minutes and yank them out before they're completely done. Oh yah -- it's a SCIENCE.

The snickerdoodles are for the staff party tomorrow. Times are hard for everyone, and the first thing to go, in terms of budget cuts, is the holiday party. HR didn't want to cut it altogether, so compromises have been made. A bunch of us are holding a "bake-off." It kills a couple of birds, the bake-off rock does. All the desserts are taken care of at no cost to the theatre, and fosters good-natured competition among the employees.

Well, maybe "good-natured" is stretching it. This afternoon, tempers flared as I began sussing out my competition.

"Sooooo, Mary. You BAKING something for tomorrow?"

"Mmmmmmaybe..."

"You're goin' DOWN, Mary. DOWN!"

Just then, my phone rang. "Development. This is Lisa."

"It's Adam. I'm bringing something, too."

"YOU'RE goin' DOWN, Adam!"

I hung up. Then Charles popped up from across the cube farm. "You're DEAD!"

At this point, we were all screaming at one another, like wrestlers.

"I'm going to BAKE, then I'm going MOP THE FLOOR WITH YOUR COOKIES!"

"You fairy! You don't know the difference between baking POWDER and baking SODA!"

"I'm gonna whip this frosting, then I'm gonna WHIP YER FACE!"

"I'm gonna beat these egg whites, then I'm gonna BEAT YER ASS!"

Good times.

lisamcc at 8:09 p.m.



3 comments so far
Veronika
2008-12-16 20:10:38
Can't wait to hear who wins
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-12-17 01:12:40
SNICKERDOODLES!
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2008-12-17 18:42:13
Girl will you PUH-LEASE send me the recipe for those chocolate cranberry cookies?? that sounds so AWESOME.
-------------------------------

previous | next