2008-11-21

It's been THAT kind of day.

It's almost exactly a week until my high school reunion and I woke up this morning to a mini-constellation of angry red ZITS all over my chin.

Awesome.

I'm hoping that this is just a sign that my body is being semi-cooperative by getting all the gross stuff out of the way well before I head down to the South Shore so people can pretend to remember who I am. Otherwise, I can expect a lot of eyes fixating on my pimple-ridden chin before meeting my own horrified stare. And then everyone can truthfully say that I LOOK EXACTLY THE SAME as I did when I was a teenager.

Which actually isn't true, in that I had a nearly-perfect complexion back then, despite working in a gross bakery and just generally not taking particularly good care of myself. I could have washed my face with a slice of pizza and "exfoliated" with the remnants of the bottom of a bag of Ruffles and my skin still would have looked awesome. I really believe that.

NOW, though....now I'm in my (urp) late thirties and I have to watch for both fine lines AND zits.

I'm telling you -- if my chin is still this bad come next Saturday, I'm staying home, OR showing up in a surgical mask. The latter would be do-able, since everyone will just think that I'm still "eccentric."

Anyway.

This morning at around 6, I'm still dozing in bed when I hear the houseboy get up, shuffle into the kitchen and switch on the light.

"Oh. OH. Oh my. Oh....oh dear."

I remain in bed, one arm flung across my face. "What?"

"Oh."

"WHAT?!"

"Um. Foot Foot appears to have gotten into your KNITTING."

"Fuck. Is it really bad?"

"Well..." the houseboy paused, fumbling for the right words. "You know those..."Family Circus" strips with the, um, the dotted line?"

I lurched out of bed and into the living room. There was, exactly as the houseboy described, a clear means of following the exact course the skein of ladder yarn took from the end of the couch where I'd stupidly left it, to underneath the coffee table, through the living room into the mudroom/pantry, the kitchen, the BATHROOM, and then back into the kitchen.

And Foot Foot just sat there, like: "O HAI! I fixed UR yarnz! I can haz wet foodz?"

lisamcc at 7:31 p.m.



2 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2008-11-25 00:59:45
One Christmas, we stupidly left out the rum ball cookies overnight. The next morning, the plate was empty, and the table was surrounded by trails of powdered sugar winding along various paths throughout the apartment. They went everywhere! They all ended with a small pile of cookie crumbs, though.
-------------------------------

Lexi
2008-11-25 03:54:10
Oh boy. Yeah, the whole breaking-out thing whilst also shopping the "approaching 40" skin care products? I feel that. And on another note, back when I could have kitties, we had to keep the toilet paper under the sink after we got Casey, after Casey "discovered" it had entertainment value. By the way, did you see my Facebook pics of Casey, the orange cat, climbing the Christmas tree? I posted those for YOU.
-------------------------------

previous | next