2008-11-11

Random Crap.

I've got today off, as does the houseboy. The PLAN is to do a top-to-bottom cleaning of the place in advance of the holidays. That's the PLAN.

Right now, though, we're both at our desks, in front of our computers, just as we would be doing had we not taken advantage of the "floating holiday." Foot Foot is batting a paper clip around the office, because - really - why play with the nice cat toys when it's so much more satisfying to jump on the desk, fish a paper clip out of the little tray-thing, swat it onto the floor, and chase THAT around instead?

This morning's Globe had a big, slick three-section insert about "fashion," now that the holidays are upon us. I know this because Starbucks has had the red cups out since before Halloween, AND Oldies 103.3 moved to their "all-holiday-music-all-the-time" format LAST WEEK. Now, last year, they at least waited until Veteran's Day. Next year, I expect we'll be hearing Nat King Cole's "Caroling Caroling" on Labor Day Weekend. What. The. Fuck.

Anyway. The Globe insert includes a gift giving guide as dictated by a handful of local boutique owners. We're all a little strapped for cash this year, so go for modest gifts such as this $350 cashmere throw, or this $1,900 cocktail ring. See? Budget-savvy!

And speaking of, I got a little sample jar of Estee Lauder's Re-Nutriv Ultimate Youth Creme. I've been sort of liking it, so I went online to discover that buying the FULL size of this miracle goo will set one back $250. TWO HUNDRED AND FIFTY DOLLARS. For that amount, I expect to be able to rub it all over my ass and have it yield results comparable to 6 months' worth of squat thrusts...INSTANTLY.

Finally, it's been brought to my attention that this photo of me at my desk at work is like one of those "What's Wrong With This Picture?" games:

I see nothing wrong here, other than the fact that I look like I have a hunchback. I have lousy posture. But maybe if I buy the full-size Estee Lauder, it'll fix that.

lisamcc at 8:48 a.m.



10 comments so far
Tina
2008-11-11 15:25:23
I can easily see 'what is wrong' with that picture. There are no pictures of me or my spawn anywhere!
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-11-11 15:35:31
Actually, not true. The picture cuts off the left side of my cube, where your wedding picture, as well as the pic of you with the three of 'em, is - in fact - on display.
-------------------------------

Houseboy
2008-11-11 18:18:20
I know what's right with that picture: all that stuff ISN'T in your office at home!
-------------------------------

kellie
2008-11-11 19:02:10
What is right as rain is Texas Barbie and THE CAT LAMP! Maso gave that up? Unbelievable.
-------------------------------

Tina
2008-11-11 20:50:52
OK. I stand corrected. My bad. Do you have the picture of us at Disney in our matching light blue polyester sweat suits?
-------------------------------

bethany
2008-11-11 21:48:57
A CAT LAMP? oh my god i must acquire one of those posthaste.
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-11-11 22:49:15
I'm a hunchy too, so I feel your pain.
-------------------------------

Lexi
2008-11-11 23:26:18
Well, what I see is that I own like five of those things. I've got a movie set clapper. I've got like a hundred Barbies. I've got a lei. But for that atrocious cat lamp and the photos of your sister, and, of course all the math that gets done there, I'd say that's MY desk.
-------------------------------

mumma
2008-11-11 23:39:33
Hee Hee...I can see you have a pic of the "old folks." Thank yew.
-------------------------------

Honey
2008-11-12 22:06:52
For really economical christmas giving, why not check out these neat books I made? (URL above.) Hint, hint.
-------------------------------

previous | next