2008-11-05

HAW HAW HAW.

Well, what can I say?

HAW HAW HAW.

When they called it around 11, I was dumbfounded. Really? REALLY? I bolted upright on the couch. Show me the damn electoral map so I can see for myself. I want there to be absolutely no question about this.

The status updates on Facebook this morning were fantastic. Nicole is "humbled by the joy and excitement." Renita is "truly proud, inspired and elated to be an American." Joanna "can finally breathe again." And those friends/family members who voted for McCain? "Not happy." "Sick." Well, you know, sorry, but it's like when I was little and was sent to my room or made to stand in the corner. Think about what you did wrong, and how you can avoid being sent to the corner next time. Exile for the next few years might be exactly what the GOP needs.

In the meantime, I feel like a weight has been lifted. The ugliness is dissipating. I am truly curious as to what the market will look like today. And I'm proud of my country.

But California? Yes on 8? Are you people FOR REAL?

lisamcc at 8:02 a.m.



3 comments so far
Spooney
2008-11-05 17:45:29
CA...as a whole, is not as liberal as many think. The Mormons threw a lot of $ & bullshit at the frightened ones & it worked.
-------------------------------

kellie
2008-11-05 23:31:51
Howdy from California. An article in the LA TImes and our local NPR station reported last week that Prop 8 was going to have a tough time. They called it "The Obama Effect". Many Latinos and African Americans who would turn out for the vote are for the most part, socially conservative. So, really, it was not a big surprise. Disappointing, yes.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-11-06 00:03:41
It's just sad to me. Very sad. I don't get it. Like my friend Sean just said: "Maybe they should ban brussels sprouts next; some people really, really don't like brussels sprouts."
-------------------------------

previous | next