2008-10-09

No. Just....no.

The other thing I did (besides the radical hair change) was finally get around to dealing with the tattoo on my left leg. I have been less-than-happy with this particular tattoo for a good chunk of time, in part because I went to someone OTHER than Justin (which I will never do again if I can help it), and for just a bunch of different reasons that I shan't get into here.

But I knew that Justin could make something wonderful out of this, and after a few cancelled appointments and efforts to reschedule, I finally got in his chair this past Tuesday night. I'm gonna wait until it's a little less swollen and owie-looking to post a picture, but it's fantastic. We're both really happy with it. My skin, and my financial situation, need to heal a bit before we do anything else to it, but as it stands right now it's just beautiful. I loves me mah Justin. I owe my sister big time for getting to him first, and introducing us.

But that's not really why I'm posting today.

There are things in this world that I've learned to be at peace with. I try to avoid these things because they bring up varying amounts of bile, but I've reached a grim acceptance of them, and recognize their right to exist. Vera Bradley bags. Real estate agents. MySpace pages. Republicans.

But there are some things that just should not be tolerated. There are some things that are abominations unto mankind.

No, not Phoebe Price. Phoebe Price, if anything, makes the world just a little bit more interesting. She's like the Rula Lenska of the new millennium. NOBODY KNOWS WHY SHE'S FAMOUS. No, what I speak of is the HEADBAND. And she's not the only one who's doing this.

Why why why WHY WHY WHY WHY? What the FUCK? Are stylists playing some massive JOKE on their clients? Wear this headband! It's so chic! So bohemian! Cut off the circulation around your brain so you'll be vapid enough to think you look good (of course it helps if you're a halfwit to begin with). All you need now are a pair of UGGS and a set of rosary beads around your neck and you'll officially be the BIGGEST ASSHOLE ON THE PLANET.

I mean...God. What's next? High-waisted jeans and legwarmers in the middle of July? Listen -- the ONLY person who could pull that shit off was Olivia. And she had the good sense to arrange her 'do AROUND the headband.

I blame Rachel Zoe. I do. I think she's HEINOUS. Legions of starlets straggling around Los Angeles looking like jankety-assed cat hos owe their "look" to Rachel Zoe, whose accessories weigh more than she does.

She's like the Crypt Keeper, except the Crypt Keeper doesn't look like he's been rolled in Crazy Glue and thrown headfirst into the nearest Claire's.

All right. I'm done. I need some ice cream and a serious attitude adjustment.

lisamcc at 12:49 p.m.



7 comments so far
scurvyann
2008-10-09 19:37:37
Lees, does this mean that boys are gonna start wearing headbands again, a la LOVERBOY? I was watching SUPERNANNY awhile ago and the dad on the show was wearing a headband in one scene. It made me snort. LOUDLY!!!!
-------------------------------

Stephen
2008-10-09 22:14:34
Is Rachel Zoe responsible for the headband thing? If so, I can see why. "If I wear a headband, it'll draw attention away from the fact that you could carve Presidential faces in my forehead."
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-10-09 23:22:06
...and the kicker? She claims to have been born in 1971. If this is true, she is a walking advertisement for SUNSCREEN and regular meals.
-------------------------------

mumma
2008-10-10 00:40:46
mmm...maybe a little botox on that forehead? She has seen a lot of sun, for sure.
-------------------------------

Rebecca
2008-10-10 14:20:50
For lots o' headbands, see the opening to ANTM. Tyra doesn't do the 'band, but each of the wannabes are wearing one.
-------------------------------

Lexi
2008-10-11 05:22:42
Holy moly, so much requiring comment. Firstly, I didn't notice the headband trend and now it's all I can see. Well, that and the "boot sandal" that's pissing me off this week. More importantly, YOUR HAIR LOOKS AWESOME. You're so lucky with that fab jawline and perfect chin. It's like built-in chic and you rock that cut. If I did that I would look like Mr. Potato Head now comes with a pixie wig.
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-10-12 15:47:59
I've always felt that the "people in charge of fashion" were constantly playing jokes on us all. That's why I largly ignore it all and mostly dress like I did in high school.
-------------------------------

previous | next