2008-10-07

The Cut.

Hey -- DOWN IN FRONT.

From her humble beginnings as a feral feline, Foot Foot has become quite the Mac pussy, yes she has.

Anyhow...

So, I did it. I cut it off. It's ALL GONE. I've been threatening to do it for months, and finally -- this past Wednesday -- I did it.

Those of you who know me fairly well know that I have a love/hate relationship with my hair. When it's long (as it was for a few years), it's a thing of majesty, provided I load it up with enough product to make it do what I want it to. It is very, VERY thick and curly. And yet for years, I kept it short as a boy's. All through high school, as a matter of fact, at a time when I could have -- if I'd been inclined to swing in that direction -- had the BIGGEST 80's HAIR OF THEM ALL.

But I've worn it long these last few years, and I began to resent it. It was heavy, wouldn't lie straight no matter how much I tried to coax it with the flatiron, and it was just a HUGE PAIN IN THE ASS.

So I went to my girl Heidi on Wednesday, plopped into the chair and told her: "I want it GONE. GONE. I want it all off."

She squealed like I'd given her the best present ever. "Reeeeealllly?"

And so here is the reason why, once again, Heidi must NEVER leave me.

God. It's like I lost ten pounds. It takes me all of THREE MINUTES now to do my hair in the morning. I could weep.

Anyone want my hot rollers and curling iron? I don't think I'll be needing them....EVER AGAIN.

lisamcc at 8:50 a.m.



9 comments so far
reem
2008-10-07 13:27:55
dig your cat <3 any idea what breed it is?
-------------------------------

Houseboy
2008-10-07 14:24:43
That's the picture I am going to send to my dissertation committee when they ask me why I haven't even done so much as an outline in six months. "Sorry, can't work...the cat's still searching Craigslist for cheap catnip."
-------------------------------

Veronika
2008-10-07 15:04:18
LOVE the cut! (the cat is pretty cute too)
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-10-07 18:18:00
It always makes me laugh when I find out my friends actually have curly hair and they've been straightening it the whole time I know them. I've (mostly) given up on having curly hair, but I spent years. I'll repeat that: YEARS trying to get my hair to be curly. The cut looks fantastic, by the way.
-------------------------------

PK
2008-10-07 19:48:52
Holy Clam Juice! It's cute as FUCK!!!!! I'm SO never having long hair again, either. Yay!
-------------------------------

andrea
2008-10-07 22:06:00
You look totally awesome.
-------------------------------

mumma
2008-10-07 22:30:19
LOVE the haircut...now you know why I never let mine go more than six weeks between trips to the barber(sorry, no Heidis down here..at least not one that I'd trust). I am just aching to hold that beautiful little kitten...she is so sweet. She will be a beautiful cat...a real longhair from what I can tell right now. Hope she likes me...
-------------------------------

scurvyann
2008-10-07 23:50:08
cat! cut! CUTE!
-------------------------------

shari
2008-10-08 21:26:33
Cute hair! Cute cat! (Yes, I totally stalk you!) xo
-------------------------------

previous | next