2008-09-06

I've become THAT person...

What? What's that? You'd like to see another picture of Foot Foot? Really?

It's been almost a week since she padded into the kitchen and into our lives. Two squares a day and a dry, warm place to sleep have put a nice soft coat and a little belly on her. She hasn't peed anywhere she's not supposed to, plays with her little catnip mouse, and does this thing where she walks up to me and just sort of...leans...against my leg and stays there. It KILLS me.

We leave for Oregon in a couple of days for my cousin Jeff's wedding. I'm definitely looking forward to this -- I don't get to see that half of my family NEARLY enough (they're all out in Montana), and I'm also hoping to see my cousin Shawn, who relocated out there last year, as well as my pal from high school, John.

But, well, now I'm all freaked out about Foot Foot being LONELY while we're gone.

I've become THAT person. Posting pictures every ten seconds and making little smoochy noises at the screen and telling everybody at work how cute it is when she stares at herself in the trash can. Nauseating.

We have people checking in on her while we're away. And I know she's probably just going to SLEEP most of the time, but I'm convinced I'm going to come back and she'll be, like, a teenager. She'll give me this withering look as if to say, "Oh GREAT. You're BACK. Pfft. WhutEVERRRRR." And then she'll drag her butt across the carpet.

lisamcc at 8:36 p.m.



4 comments so far
mumma
2008-09-07 18:10:53
When we would go away for any length of time, upon our return Sami used to sit on the floor with her back to me...just sit so that I would know that she was not pleased. Eventually, she'd jump up into my lap, do her claw-thing and settle down and go to sleep. Foot Foot seems to be able to manage being alone when you guys are at work...she'll be ok...just don't let your sister "guilt you out.!"
-------------------------------

voodoo
2008-09-08 17:15:15
She is gorgeous!
-------------------------------

Kellie
2008-09-08 23:34:59
She is ALMOST as pretty as my girl SueSue. Who, when I have to be gone, sleeps the kitty days away in my laundry basket until the neighbor aunties and uncles come to feed, scoop, and play. Then when I return, she takes a huge dump and refuses to cover it.
-------------------------------

Kathryn
2008-09-09 15:42:14
I love your little FootFoot. She reminds me of my dear-departed favorite cat of all time, Fenway, who was also a tortoise shell calico. Fenny would jump from the floor to the top of a door where she'd chase her tail on her inch-and-a-quarter wide "platform".
-------------------------------

previous | next