2008-08-23

Catastrophizing...

I leave for Nashville on Monday morning. Yesterday I printed out EVERYTHING that had to do with ANYTHING as far as this trip is concerned. I printed out every bit of proof that I had been a good little kitty and made all my reservations and am therefore entitled to board the aircraft, get on the shuttle bus, and check into my room...in that order. Because I'm a recovering alcoholic (or just plain neurotic; you make the call), and therefore prone to um...catastrophizing...everything, I'm convinced that at SOME POINT during this trip, something is going to go horribly awry, and I'll end up stranded in Atlanta, or having to sleep on a folding cot in the kitchen.

And because I just can't leave well enough alone, I tortured myself by reading all these horrible reviews of the resort. So now I'm convinced that although the Gaylord Opryland Resort boasts such majestic features as these:


...I'm quite convinced that my ROOM is going to look like this:

Hair wadded up in the drain, no paper strip across the toilet seat so I won't fall in, vomitous comforter on the bed. Oh, yeah. I'm going to wind up in a HOVEL...and that's if I even make it onto the plane.

I don't really know why I'm this bunged up about this. It's not as if I've never taken a trip by myself. And save for the time a small child vomited sour milk and Spaghetti-O's all over my aisle 35 minutes into a 5 hour flight to Los Angeles, nothing terrible has ever happened on these solo excursions.

I get to go to Nashville, and I don't have to pay for hardly anything except the dumbass souvenirs I'm bound to pick up (and if you want a postcard, you should email me yer address). I get to go to the Opry with a bunch of other database dorks. I get my own room, so I don't have to pretend to my coworkers that I don't do gross things. All things considered, it's probably going to be pretty awesome.

Not as awesome as this, though:

Nothing's as awesome, really.

lisamcc at 7:43 p.m.



1 comments so far
Honey
2008-08-25 17:21:19
That is AWESOME.
-------------------------------

previous | next