2008-07-31

Going Going Gone

I got an email from classmates.com alerting me of the fact that, yes, there will be a 20-year high school reunion. Thanksgiving weekend, at the Country Club.

Yeah, I'm gonna go. Fuck it.

Jon went to his last November, and he said it was a blast. I believe him. I honestly think I should have crashed that one, since most of my friends graduated the year ahead of me. I have slight-to-nagging reservations, still, about going to my own class reunion. The big one, of course, is that Keith won't be there. I also had sort of a crummy time at the last reunion I went to, ten years ago. And I have this feeling that I'm going to walk in there, with my tattoos and my stripey hair and my lack of baby pictures to share, and there's going to be this...collective eye roll.

Meh.

The best thing, I suppose, is to just go in there with no expectations either way. Don't expect the red carpet, but don't expect a kick in the ass, either.

But I did email a few friends that I've been in touch with. My friend Pete, now a lawyer in D.C., responded with a single-word-reply: "Nizah!" (If you're not from around here, this will make NO sense to you...but it basically means "awesome.")

I found that amusing. I imagined Pete in his slick office, wearing a very nice suit, and typing: "Nizah!" I was also frankly shocked that he used it, because he was from South Hingham - the WICKED NICE part of Hingham - and I thought only trashy kids from Crow Point (like me and my sister) employed such slang.

Everybody dance! Party like it's 1988!

lisamcc at 7:37 a.m.



2 comments so far
Andrea
2008-08-01 01:22:20
I'm so glad you're going, if only because I can't wait to read your recap. My 20th is in two years. GUH.
-------------------------------

GBF
2008-08-01 02:37:09
I only went to my ten-year. I wound up the only one who brought a bathing suit except for the giant lesbian who has a feminist show on Buffalo NY cable. Needless to say, we bonded, and by the end of the night, the straight classmates with questionable sexuality were bringing Bernie and I drinks at the pier in the lake we floated in.
-------------------------------

previous | next