2008-07-22

I love a challenge...

PK, in response to this entry (more to the point, in response to the YouTube clip of that REO Speedwagon vid), claimed that there was nothing on God's Green Earth that was worse than Kevin Cronin's hair during the mid-80's. In case you don't feel like going back to that entry and reliving the magic, here it is again:

Damn. You know, the more I watch this, the more it grafts itself onto my very soul.

Anyway, she has basically challenged me, and I can't say NO to a good challenge, so I will state unequivocally that yes, yes there are - in point of fact - worse hairdos than that of Kevin Cronin's. I would argue that Cronin's hair NOW is just a tad worse:

Kevin Cronin or Quentin Crisp?

But then how soon we all forget the epic majesty that was Bono's douchetastic mullet during the "Unforgettable Fire" era:

And Geddy Lee has pretty much always had terrible hair:



In fact, the only thing worse than long hair on a guy old enough to know better is long hair, coupled with the unholy facial blight that is the SOUL PATCH.

But these are all too easy. In these examples, you've at least got some semblance of EFFORT. I think the absolute worst look is one that I still see, every day, and something inside me dies a little whenever I see it. For lack of a better name, let's call it the "Cobra Kai."


I know grown-ass men who STILL wear their hair this way. But for the thinning at the top and the graying at the temples, it's the EXACT SAME HAIRDO that they probably sported in their high school yearbook photo...TWENTY YEARS AGO. Gentlemen, really. Really now. I'm not saying that you should go out and get a Zac Efron, but for the love of Paul Mitchell, BRANCH OUT. You do have OPTIONS. That's just laziness. That's "lemme change into a button-down shirt and we can go out to dinner at Chili's" hair. And that, to me, is far more offensive than Kevin Cronin's poodle-mullet.

lisamcc at 7:38 a.m.



7 comments so far
Houseboy
2008-07-22 14:31:04
I still say there is nothing more pathetic than the ubiquitous "Marshall Mathers;" grown men with bowl cuts and straight bangs. Can you say "Uhhhh doooyee!"
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2008-07-23 16:18:58
I can't believe I am actually saying this, but: I think Geddy Lee is looking pretty good these days!
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-07-23 17:24:06
Ew, LJ. Ew. Ew ew ew.
-------------------------------

Honey
2008-07-23 19:50:51
Have you seen Billy Ray Cyrus lately? Gah.
-------------------------------

PK
2008-07-24 00:50:20
I'm still standing by Cronin. Though Geddy Lee really does always look like a twat. As far as You Tube goes, though: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXdiORUo40I
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-07-24 00:59:52
Jesus Christ, PK. Just....Jesus.
-------------------------------

GBF
2008-08-01 02:29:45
These boys are just today's Tom Sawyers. They get high on you. And the space they invade? They get by on, too.
-------------------------------

previous | next