2008-05-30

The Long Hair Thing.

I'm in my bathrobe, eating a giant M&M cookie, watching "Forensic Files" and engaging in a furious back-and-forth email debate -- with my now-long-distance-gay-boyfriend -- as to whether or not Anderson Cooper is hot.

Multi-tasking. You better believe I'm awesome at it.

And, oh God, I'm going to see Heidi tomorrow to get my hair right again. I didn't see her at ALL for WAY too long, because I spent so much money on my prescription sunglasses this month and just couldn't justify the additional expense of having my hair done the way it needs to be done.

I won't do that again. My hair is - no lie - a DISASTER, even though Jon told me the other night that it looked nice. I love Jon to death, I do. We've known each other for decades now, but in matters concerning my hair, Jon is WRONG. Because this is what it looks like when Heidi gets through with it:

It SO does not look like this now.

I have learned that I really sort of can't stand it when my hair gets longer than chin-length. I look at myself in the mirror and am reminded that my mother has always said that when a woman gets past a certain age, long hair doesn't work anymore. As such, Betty has worn her hair in a salt-and-pepper pixie cut since the 80's. Two things she always stressed to me and my sister: the Long Hair thing, and the Douche thing. Without going into the details of the latter, I will say that she is absolutely correct on both counts.

(And before all you dames with long tresses get all up in my Kool-Aid...relax. I'm sure your hair is glorious and easy to manage and never gets wadded up in the drain.)

lisamcc at 10:13 p.m.



1 comments so far
b
2008-05-30 23:29:33
i had waist length hair for all of my teenage years. right up until last year, when i walked in to a salon, and said "get rid of it. all of it." i got what amounted to a pixie cut. i think they ended up chopping off nearly 30 inches of hair. i donated it to locks of love, of course, because i am nigh on angelic. ANYWAY, all this to say, i will never have hair that even so much as touches my shoulders ever again. it was a glorious turning point for me. short hair! oh my god, where have you been all of my life?
-------------------------------

previous | next