2008-05-07

Oh boy oh boy oh boy...

Yesterday's outcome: almost the Best Day Ever.

"Almost"...only because I put myself even further in debt by the purchase of my prescription sunglasses.

$281.00. And no, I didn't get some dumbass designer frames. The frames themselves were maybe about $30. It's the LENSES that killed me, as well as the chances of my getting my highlights re-freshened anytime before, oh, Labor Day weekend. Of 2009.

(And kindly don't tell me to get LASIK, or suggest that I'd have been better off at such-and-such a place. Frankly, I got off fairly cheap this time around. I'm just saying. It costs a lot for me to be able to see well enough to even FIND my glasses in the morning, and it's been that way since I was nine years old.)

Last night, though, more than made up for my smarting wallet. Crowded House at the Somerville Theatre. Holy fuck. Sorry if my gushing bores you; I feel you there. There are actually very few things that annoy me more than a rabid, self-congratulatory "fan." So I kind of hate myself when I go off like this. Kind of.

But it bears repeating: holy fuck. By far the best live show I've seen. Some other folks in the audience captured some nice moments, and were kind enough to share:

Yeah, they've got a EUPHONIUM up in there. ROCK.

And, since I'm in full-on GEEK MODE, here's the set list:

Recurring Dream
Don't Stop Now
Turn it Around
Lucky
Private Universe
Into Temptation
I Can't Give You Anything But Love, Baby
Either Side of the World (When You're in Love)
Whispers and Moans
A Man in Uniform
Beautiful Life
Pour Le Monde
Chocolate Cake
The Only Way to Go is Forward
World Where You Live
Something So Strong

ENCORE ONE:
Love You Till the Day I Die
Pineapple Head
Distant Sun
Weather With You

ENCORE TWO:
Don't Dream It's Over
She Goes On
Four Seasons in One Day

Probably for the first 10 minutes or so, I just sat there quietly weeping. Other times, I bawled quite openly (during "Pour Le Monde" and "Into Temptation"). I don't know how people put up with me sometimes.

Lots of new songs, too. Lots. What I particularly like about these guys is they don't play the "nostalgia" card too heavily. We all love the stuff from the first couple of records, but some of the new songs are equally as beautifully devastating (one of them had a line which simply went "won't you please come home...you know where everything goes," which just WRECKED me). They're clearly using this smaller-scale tour as a writing lab of sorts, trying out the new material, tweaking it with each performance, and they KNOW they can do this, because we're going to receive the new stuff just as enthusiastically as we do "Don't Dream It's Over." Because they're Crowded House, and they fucking RULE.

So, if you're in Toronto, Chicago, San Fran, or Los Angeles, get your ass some tickets NOW and GO SEE THEM. I'm really quite serious.

Oh, and before I forget -- thanks to Pete and Mel for the ride back to JP. Y'all rock harder than the euphonium solo.

lisamcc at 6:17 p.m.



4 comments so far
Lexi
2008-05-08 15:10:16
Where'd you get $281 glasses? Are they funky? Last time, I paid an arm and $420 for funky. I need new ones again (my glasses are literally taped together like the loser that I am) but I cannot afford another giant bill.
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-05-08 17:18:42
Hey Lexi! I have 2 pairs (regular, not sunglasses). One is (are?) vintage frames I got off of Ebay for pretty cheap (actually, it was a lot of around 10 frames but only one pair looked good on me) & I had my optometrist put in lenses for less than $100. The other pair I got through http://www.framesdirect.com (I tried them on at a store that sold them for more $$ first). Pibb had a special sunglasses clip custom made for his frames by his optometrist, but I recall it being somewhat expensive (but not more than $250 or so). Good luck!
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-05-08 20:52:46
Lexi - these are very basic, no-frills sunglasses. Like I said, the frames were about 30 bucks. LENSES, dude. I get fucked by the lenses every time.

And I go to Cambridge Eye...the one in the Financial District. They all call me "hon" there, which is why I go.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-05-19 00:15:55
"Y'all"? Seriousy dude, I live down here and try not to say that. But you are a geek. And I love you for it.
-------------------------------

previous | next