2008-04-25

-

I finally figured out that VH1-Classic, in fact, does still show videos...in the MORNING. In the evening it's still crap like "Movies That Rock" and the drug documentary they've been playing for the last 8 months.

So for the past several mornings, I've been watching hugely embarrassing Billy Squier videos while having my coffee and chuckling away.

Except this morning. This morning it's been damn near intolerable. To borrow a term from my sister, this must be "Soft Cock Friday" on VH1-Classic. We've had all yer AM Gold standards: Carole King, Jim Croce, the Carpenters...fine artists, to be sure, but when you see them back-to-back-to-back, you start thinking about maybe buying some Boston Ferns for the living room and taking up batik.

Yet I keep watching, much in the same way I kept watching back in the early 80's, hoping that the next video will be good, or at least entertaining.

And now they're fucking torturing me with "Momentary Lapse of Reason"-era Pink Floyd butchering "Comfortably Numb." David Gilmour looking like a cross between the father in "Family Affair" and an extra on "Miami Vice."

I'll tell you what a "momentary lapse of reason" is, Dave...having those chicks in the tight black dresses backing your ass up. Jesus Christ.

I need to go to work now...

lisamcc at 8:22 a.m.



2 comments so far
Spooney
2008-04-25 16:40:43
I call that era Pink Floyd Dry - no Waters to give it any depth.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-05-19 00:26:00
Billy Squire! Good GRAVY!
-------------------------------

previous | next