2008-04-04

"Evil Dead II" makes me feel young again...

I'm home on a Friday night, in my jammies, having polished off a bowl of cereal, and I'm watching the GREATEST MOVIE EVER MADE, and that's "Evil Dead II."

And as I've been sitting here roaring with laughter and thanking the Deity Of Your Choice for the majesty that is Bruce Campbell, I realize that it was almost exactly 20 years ago that I first saw this movie, at my friend Kim's house, with Kim, Ethan, and Pete. It was Stupid Double Feature Night, and we watched "Children of the Corn," which SUCKED, and was only made bearable by the rapid-fire corn-related puns we hurled at the set ("They're sacrificing Isaac! Aw, SHUCKS!"). I don't even remember whose idea it was to rent "Evil Dead II." We were so enchanted and so very, very entertained that at film's end, we just sat there grinning stupidly. For weeks and weeks afterwards, we'd hail each other in the hallway: "Hey -- I'll SWALLOW YOUR SOUL!" I'm pretty sure Ethan actually signed my yearbook thus.

I remember, too, being grateful to have fallen in with this particular group. Most of my friends were in the class ahead of me, and when they all graduated, I was really afraid that it was going to be me, alone up in my room with a box of Entenmann's little chocolate chip cookies and my "Wrinkle In Time" books all over again, just like in 7th grade, before I discovered the Drama Club. But for whatever reason, this group of straight-A, clean-cut, Best and Brightests kind of...I don't know...wanted me around.

Ethan and Pete are lawyers now. Kim's an art historian and recently had a baby. But I know I could email any one of them, with just the line "I'll SWALLOW YOUR SOUL" and they'd all remember that night at Kim's house, and how much we laughed our asses off, and how much that movie fucking rules.

That was a great, great night.

lisamcc at 10:09 p.m.



3 comments so far
Bill
2008-04-05 10:49:37
And now I get to laugh at random times in the evening watching Bruce croon "Hungry Like the Wolf" next to a bottle of Old Spice. That commercial is singlehandedly making Old Spice cool again.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-04-05 19:26:23
Wait...when was Old Spice NOT cool? I mean, doesn't DAD still wear it?
-------------------------------

Mike
2008-04-07 16:02:49
"Woodshed!"
-------------------------------

previous | next