2008-03-05

Make It Work!

What does it say about me that I am both excited about the "Project Runway" finale, and concerned because it doesn't start until 10 o'clock, and I'm usually in bed by then?

The Greeks had a word for it: LAME.

I feel like I should make myself an espresso. I need to be awake to see my fey, pissy little troll doll win. I speak, of course, of Christian. Jillian MIGHT surprise us, but I feel pretty certain that Christian will take it. Here's the deal with Rami -- his stuff is lovely. But it's for rich ladies who lunch, or the mother-of-the-bride. It's high-end, but it's not couture.

Today I played What Would Christian Wear? in my closet. I wore a black corset with a black linen bolero, a black high-waisted pencil skirt, black-and-tan tights, and black oxford heels. And a big black beret. I have to say, it was one of my better ensembles. I sailed into the office and my friend Michael squealed: "You look SEWWW A-DORRRRR-ABLE!"
"But do I look FIERCE?"
"OHMIGOD....YES!"

Then I was running around like Tim Gunn telling everyone to MAKE IT WORK. And pretty much everyone knew what I was talking about it, because I'd say 85% of the staff here watches "Project Runway," and as a matter of fact, the cast and director of the show that's opening this week made it a point to end tech rehearsal early so that they could all watch the finale tonight. We're sick, all of us. Sick sick sick.

I've said it before, though -- I feel like it's okay for me to be so perversely into this show, because it's interesting, and -- for an admitted clotheshorse like me -- pretty inspiring. And the contestants actually DO something, unlike -- say -- the broads on "Rock of Love 2."

Oh...OH OH OH! SPEAKING of ROL2, I FINALLY figured out why that Megan tramp looked so familiar: she's the winner from "Beauty & The Geek"! Yes. She was all nice on that show and she's a RAVING, SCHEMING TROLLOP on this one. I was screaming about this earlier today, how you just can't TRUST these reality shows anymore, when Michael looked at me and said, "Well, Lisa, I hate to be the one to BURST YOUR BUBBLE, especially since you look so CUTE, but you really shouldn't expect people to find their SOULMATES on a show like that."
"You're right. They should go through a more traditional, less spiritually-bankrupt channel."
"EXACTLY."
"Like MySpace."

God, I'm still so pissed about Megan, though. Maybe I don't need an espresso after all...

lisamcc at 8:00 p.m.



3 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2008-03-05 20:36:55
I find it comforting that those stupid reality shows (not the tasteful ones that I love, of course) are recycling their bimbos. Maybe that means that they will eventually run out. Oh, and go Jillian!!!!
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-03-07 02:19:14
I'll have you know that the "contestants" on "Rock Of Love" ARE, indeed, "doing something." And that something is Brett. And that's gotta be more difficult than ANYthing on "Project Runway!"
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-03-07 13:46:23
To Jess: HAHAHAHAHA! That was beautiful. Oh lamb chop, I think you look fierce no matter WHAT you wear.
-------------------------------

previous | next