2008-02-26

Heaven's Just A Funky Moose.

Sometimes, things get tough, the pillar in your soul that keeps your loneliness from crushing you seems on shaky ground, indeed, and even the Oscars don't prove mindlessly entertaining enough.

(Although, pretty much everyone I know who DID watch the Oscars is in agreement that Tilda Swinton is a FREAK, and I'm not necessarily sure that's a good thing.


I'm always a fan of the one person who shows up at the Oscars looking like 10 pounds of fresh hell in a 5lb bag, honestly. It's why I love Sally Kirkland. You GO, Sally. Right?

But...Tilda. Ecccchhh. I told Vikki today -- Tilda is like the girl in your college drama department who smokes clove cigarettes, boycotts the spring musical and winds up staging a "performance art" piece, by way of protest, in the black box space, but shows up at the musical's cast party, anyway, and blows your boyfriend to boot. That's Tilda. Showin' up at the Academy Awards like Max Headroom in a Hefty bag. Boo.)

Jesus. What was I saying? Oh, yes. Loneliness. A hard rain pelting against the bedroom window. Tap, tap, tap. To whom can you turn but old friends?

In the olden days, before the internet became a much more reliable source of information, before MySpace and lolcats, people would create stupid shit with Shockwave and post it on websites. True.

lisamcc at 10:08 p.m.



3 comments so far
lj lindhurst
2008-02-27 12:46:20
Lisa, you know I lurv you, girl--but why all the YouTube links lately? I like it so much better when you actually do some writing! you are SUCH a good writer--I always feel cheated when you post a bunch of YouTube links. (please don't hate me now)
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-02-27 14:25:56
Because I'm lazy. Lazy and pathetic. And I'm on a YouTube tear lately. Give me a few more days; I'm sure something sufficiently insane and/or shitty will happen that will merit a Tube-less posting.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-03-04 12:32:02
Your take on Tilda just cracks me up!
-------------------------------

previous | next