2008-02-24

The (Human) Talking Stain

OK, so most of you who know me, know that I am a cynical, jaded, "In These Times"-readin', Negativland-listenin' snarky trollop. I take everything I see or read with a giant bag of rock salt. At the same time, I ADORE pop culture. I just love it. I'm more or less at peace with these warring sides of my personality. And yet I feel a monstrous sense of guilt at finding this so funny:

Yes, I TOTALLY stuck my head on the "Talking Stain" ad. Because I love the Talking Stain. I do. I think it's the goddamn funniest thing on television right now. Funnier than "Family Guy," the Republican presidential debates and "Celebrity Rehab" COMBINED. I laugh every single time. Every...single...time.

To add further insult to injury, I actually downloaded the Talking Stain gibberish to my iPod, so I can play it over and over as I'm sitting on the subway and laughing like a complete idiot.

Eventually, it will get old, and not as funny. But not anytime soon, I hope, because I need to laugh that hard right now.

God bless the Talking Stain and the Fucking Suits behind it.

lisamcc at 7:43 p.m.



5 comments so far
scurvyann
2008-02-25 10:25:00
HAHHH - I am so with ya! I've only seen the commercial a couple of times and I laffed out loud. I hadn't visited the website - that is HILARious! You look GREAT as a stain! (and always!)
-------------------------------

Tina
2008-02-25 10:32:03
I had NEVER seen that before and sat down with my bowl of Frosted Mini Wheats, put a huge spoonful in my mouth, hit play, and nearly had mini wheats come out of my nose. That's fuckin hilarious!
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-02-26 14:56:30
I felt the same way about that dramatic gopher.
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-02-26 20:39:37
I'm with Vikki on the gopher. I would probably find the stain funnier (and it WAS funny) if it weren't a commercial. Sadly, my first thought was "I GOTTA get me one of those stain remover things!" I do.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-03-24 23:25:50
How did I miss this post? I love this add! And you look really amazing as a stain. Always knew you WERE one. You big STAIN!
-------------------------------

previous | next