2008-02-14

Most of my shoes are pretty beat, actually.

So I finally get linked on Universal Hub last night, for bitching about my bus ride in yesterday's entry, and I learn that -- apparently -- the reason I ranted so was because I couldn't wear cute shoes.

A UH reader theorizes:
I think her post makes a lot more sense when you read her comments on the perspective of someone who considers "not being able to wear cute shoes" to be the end of the world....

Now, being the type of person who takes everything REALLY REALLY SERIOUSLY, I of course went back and read the entry and thought, "Am I really such a petty shoe whore?"

I should know by now, having had this site for well over 8 years, that what I intend to be the gist of something I've written isn't necessarily what everyone will always pick up on. If that entry was somebody's first exposure to my site, then -- I suppose -- it could be taken as being written by some spoiled princess with a shoe problem, and not by a cranky thirtysomething with a nonprofit desk job. Is perception everything?


What say you, chickens?
Am I a petty shoe whore?
Yes, and you're shallow, too. Wicked shallow.
Oh my God, no. You're like the Angelina Jolie of Boston, or something.
I hate your shoes.
John Edwards.


language="javascript" src="http://www.snappoll.com/banners/banner_pollinside.js">





lisamcc at 8:10 a.m.



4 comments so far
PK
2008-02-15 01:05:32
http://nataliedee.com/021007/a-valentine-from-a-little-dog.jpg
-------------------------------

Some Assembly Required
2008-02-14 11:31:45
I am suspicious of people who don't care about shoes. Shoes are vital, and should be afforded due consideration. And yes, they should look good as well as feel good. Ever notice that the people who say they don't care about clothes or shoes always seem to be the ones who look like crap?
-------------------------------

Some Assembly Required
2008-02-14 14:57:26
Eh, I just looked at my comment and realized that it could be interpreted as critical of you, which is not at all what I meant. I was criticizing those who were knocking your priorities.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-03-24 23:37:07
Oh good grief. People taking anything in the blogosphere seriously are the same people who believe Wikipedia is written by a conglomerate of scientists and other wikkid smaht people. I mean, good grief, if you took various random rants on my blog, you could paint a very different picture of the Nettie YOU know and love. And as a person with very short VERY wide Fred Flintstone feet, the ability to wear very cute shoes is something I think banana footed dainties everywhere just take for granted. Be a shoe whore. Whore it up, Imelda! And in case that guy who takes things too seriously is offended by that last comment, it was written by someone of Fillipino descent. Now I'm off to strap giant blocks of wood to my feet.
-------------------------------

previous | next