2008-01-19

What's Wrong With Jill?

I sat down with my coffee and did my Saturday Morning Stroll through the internets, and came across this (with thanks aplenty to the fine folks at Universal Hub):

I just barely SORT OF remember this commercial, back when there was still such an animal as "New England Telephone." My folks may still even have had a ROTARY PHONE back then.

Wow, though. The PATHOS. I'm DYING to know what Jill's problem is. Was ist mit Jill? Obviously she's done something very wrong, indeed, to have her own parents shun her. Jill has not been welcome in Weston for TWO YEARS. What has she done to merit this?

I'm off to search YouTube for "Part 2" now, unless any of you oldschoolers remember exactly what Jill's deal was...

lisamcc at 10:54 a.m.



6 comments so far
mumma
2008-01-19 22:00:59
I do remember that commercial and, no we did not have a rotary phone...we had graduated to pushbutton, but on a very large, heavy piece of equipment with very tangled cords. Hope you can find more on the series, as it was a series, 'cause I can't remember how it ended. Your theories sure fit the period, however. Love ya'....
-------------------------------

Jess
2008-01-20 22:42:36
I remember that commercial too! I'm voting for gay.
-------------------------------

Tina
2008-01-21 18:11:01
I'm with the gay hypothesis.
-------------------------------

mumma
2008-01-21 20:44:36
In real life, maybe, but you have to remember that this was not today's television and, altho' it may have tantalized the audience with possibilities, I doubt that it could have been the answer. Remember, the sponser was pretty mainstream... the telephone company, for crying out loud. Nah, she was probably going to quit college and join the Peace Corps.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-01-22 23:59:37
Oh man - as usual, it's a good thing I wasn't drinking anything as I would have given my sinuses a good rinse with it! "...and not the nice kind of colored person like her father hired two of at the firm." You slay me. I adore you. It was a pleasure being sober with you and Susan the other night.
-------------------------------

Toddlington
2008-02-10 12:21:07
Oh my god! Jill's sister is played by ... by ... Amy Steel! My absolute favoritest D-list slasher actress! She who carried the 2nd "Friday the 13th" and that fabulously underrated film that no one ever saw, "April Fool's Day." As for Jill, considering how incredibly uptight dad is, it might be something minor like buying a Japanese car.
-------------------------------

previous | next