2007-12-01

Random Acts Of Randomness

Yesterday I got to the office and noticed that Mish wasn't her usual snarky-yet-chipper self. Ordinarily she's the one that has to pull me outta the semi-hourly funks I find myself in -- like the other night, when I discovered I'd lost one of my BRAND NEW Eddie Bauer gloves. I stewed and fumed to everyone who'd listen, and on the way home Mish kept trying to give me my much-needed dose of perspective: "Well, I mean, at least it's not WICKED COLD out tonight, Lees."
"..."
"It could be a lot worse."
"..."
"And it's not like you have to go to Maine or whatever to get another pair."
"Will you for GOD'S SAKE just LET me be in a bad mood about my fucking gloves, Mish?!"
"FINE."
"FINE."

So I just let her kind of harrumph around yesterday, which was wrong of me, I know. And when she went out to go to a meeting, I did THINK about filling a candy dish with tampons and Pamprin and leaving it on her desk, but I got tied up running reports and all, and....yeah. BUT AS IT TURNS OUT, I didn't have to do anything, because when she got back from her meeting, she was all cake and bunnies and fuckin' little pastel hearts and shit.

"OH MY GOD, the most RANDOM thing just happened to me..."
"Yeah?"
"This woman just STOPPED me on the street and was like, 'I just need to tell you how FABULOUS you look: you're so COORDINATED. Have a great Friday!'"
"Wow."
"I KNOW, right? I almost burst into tears."

So, being the terrible, profoundly flawed person that I am, immediately after feeling happy for Mish, I thought, "How come this stuff never happens to ME?" Nobody ever stops ME on the street to say how awesome I look. I mean, I've gotten some comments about my rack, which I'm sure were INTENDED to be complimentary. But I just couldn't remember ever being the random recipient of a random act of kindly randomness.

(I know. You get what you put out. But sometimes you just can't think of doing anything other than sticking quarters in nearly-expired parking meters. Holding the door open for someone takes all the energy you can muster some days.)

But then about an hour later I was looking for something to listen to, and stumbled across this. A whole goddamn internet radio station devoted to all things Haunted Mansion. And most of you KNOW how I feel about The Haunted Mansion. Sure, this person didn't create this station just for ME, just so that I could listen to eight different versions of the "foyer organ music" IN A ROW. But I accepted it as the gift that it most certainly IS.

(Oh, and after work Mish and I went to Haru and ate a metric assload of sushi. So it really was a totally good day.)

lisamcc at 12:00 p.m.



1 comments so far
PK
2007-12-01 18:59:22

-------------------------------

previous | next