2007-10-19

Vacation.

For some reason, the gods decided that yesterday was Bombastic Suck Day, as I was continually pelted with crap ranging from crashing servers to my personal favorite: The Dude That Stands Right In Front Of The Train Doors Even Though He's Not Getting Off Until Malden Center. Sometimes it's hard not to believe that I am getting some kind of karmic asskicking for something I've done, or that my name got pulled in some fucked up divine lottery where instead of getting 43 million dollars, you get constant reminders of what an impatient, pimply, profoundly flawed sack of enzymes you really are.

(And to anybody who is about to remind me of the awesome power of The Serenity Prayer: Bite me.)

I got home, had a good cry, and made a metric assload of soup (we'll be eating it for the next three days, is my guess). And then I went on vacation.

I didn't go to Aruba, or Bermuda. I didn't even take a day trip to Essex. I went to the tv room, circa 1976.

Let me tell you, I need to take more of these vacations.

lisamcc at 8:11 a.m.



9 comments so far
Tina
2007-10-19 10:31:06
Tom & Jerry is on the cartoon network and D,K, and I watch it at 1:30p before we have to get ready to get Chloe from school. That episode was on on Monday and I enjoyed it WAY more than D&K did. (Though, I have to say, D&K love Tom and Jerry. Dunc will ask, "Dat Tom?" and I'll say, "Yes, that's Tom." Dunc will get excited and say, "Yah, dat Tom cat! Dat Jerry mouse!"
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-10-19 10:39:32
you know what's been doing the job for me lately? Bette Davis movies. I've been having a mini Bette Davis festival, and it is SO MUCH FUN! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED... oh yeah and added bonus--your gay friends will go nuts.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-19 11:56:16

Tina - this particular T&J cartoon is largely responsible for the way I am today. That, and the episode of "Three's Company" where Jack's loaded on tranquilizers. Don't bother looking on YouTube for it -- I already tried.

LJ - for maximum fag hag points, you need to go the Crawford route and watch "Mildred Pierce." Like a billion times.


-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2007-10-19 12:00:42
Ummmm...what's better than Dolenz rocking his velour shirt? Nothing, that's all.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-10-19 12:28:43
oh for shizzle, Mildred Pierce rocks (how much do you want to see that teenage daughter get slapped???). but I do believe that "All About Eve" trumps the Pierce on the faghag points--check with your gays! (surely somewhere, somegay has created a complex mathematical system for determining the relative fagginess of these movies)
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-19 13:18:31

Vikki - I was firmly in the Dolenz camp until I saw "Head," when it became plainly evident that Nesmith was the best kisser of the bunch. Mercy.

LJ - Veda Pierce Forrester is one of the greatest bitches in film history. Or as my dear friend David (RIP) always used to say when we'd watch it: "Veda's SUCH a cuuuuunnnnnt."
-------------------------------

Some Assembly Required
2007-10-22 14:27:33
No Speed Racer? Weekday afternoons on channel 56, after I got home from elementary school... By the way, thanks for linking to me. I'm not sure if you realize it, but you know me. I worked FOH with you at the theater for a couple of years mid-90s. In fact, I ran into you at the Mass. Ave. Orange line station a couple of months ago--you were getting ready to move and were carrying boxes. After I saw you, I looked you up on google and added the link to you on my blog. No other way to contact you without an email address.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-22 19:35:11
Ha ha HA! Dean! Of course! Oh, man....the DIRT you've got on me. I try to avoid people who knew me in the mid-90's, because I was such a splendid, drunken disaster. You're one of the exceptions, my friend.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2007-10-22 21:38:21
Your train dude made me think of one of the things that sent me into a rage on this same date but in an airplane on the ground in Newark NJ: A full flight from Newark to Austin. I get on almost last after 6 hrs of sitting at the gate. There is not ONE freaking spot in the overhead bins. Not ONE. I look down on the floor level to see pretty much a completely empty floor space. Is there some horrible curse on a plane if people actually USE the space under the seat in front of them for their carry-on luggage? I don't get this. I honestly nearly killed a few people. But in stead, I just shoved my two items under the feet of the idiots next to me without saying a word. I'm sure they got my message. Thank you for letting me vent.
-------------------------------

previous | next