2007-10-04

SkyLab Day!

Hey chickens - know what today is?

It's SkyLab Day!

In about a half-hour, I depart for my appointment with the prodigiously gifted and super-nice Justin Kopec. I am very excited.

Quite by accident, my getting SkyLab tattooed on my right arm coincides with the 50th anniversary of the Sputnik launch. Read into that what you will.

Pics and story to follow. Stay tuned!

later...

OK. I'm back from what has now become Session One. You'll see why.

So, before I left the office, I had Mish snap this "before" photo:


Yah, I know -- not a great shot. But you see sort of the "starting point" here. This is the tattoo that Justin did about 2 years ago.

Here's where we were at about an hour in:


Question: Does it hurt?
Answer: YES.

Actually, at a certain point I go sort of numb. I actually get kind of giddy. Fortunately, Justin has a very fun, very sweet manner as he's digging into you, not to mention lots of good reading material:

Now, the problem with the giddiness is that I become REAL open to suggestion. Justin and I decided that, well, maybe SkyLab wasn't ENOUGH. Maybe we needed to stick a PLANET in there. And a li'l ASTRONAUT (which I have totally dedicated to PK.)

After about 2 1/2 hours, it was getting to be a little TOO much. Jupiter was mildly irritating going on, but the astronaut made me kind of want to throw up. Very painful.

Okay, so these "after" shots must be viewed with a couple of caveats. One - everything's rather inflamed and covered with a film of ink and plasma and goo. Two - this is NOT FINISHED. Justin finished the outlines tonight, and color is going to be Session Two on Sunday. The original nebula will be darkened up somewhat, and more little streaky-things will swirl around SkyLab. Okay?


You can't really make out Jupiter in these shots -- it's behind the nebula in that second shot.
Question: Are you fucking CRAZY?
Answer: Yes, probably.

Y'know, I got my reasons behind this. It does have meaning to me. The original nebula tattoo was a tribute to a very dear friend whom I miss every single day. SkyLab - a reminder of the sense of wonder I felt as a child, about something bigger than me, and how things fall apart. The astronaut is for my very best friend in the world. Jupiter's influence is one of happiness.

Maybe there are less permanent ways of documenting such things, but this is how I've chosen to go about it in this case.

lisamcc at 10:03 p.m.



5 comments so far
Erin
2007-10-05 15:05:06
Fabulous! Looking forward to seeing the finished product.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-10-05 18:44:36
looks great! wow! however, I must point out that your armpit looks like a vagina in that second picture. In fact, I think you have an Armpit Cameltoe!!! HAHAHAHA (I mean, hehehehe because I know how much you like that)
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-05 21:57:08
Man, this is a THEME or something....because the other morning as I walking to the subway, someone actually wrote (in chalk) on the front of the building: ARMPIT VAGINA. It's true! I took a picture of it because it was so fucked up! WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN?
-------------------------------

Lexi
2007-10-06 13:58:18
Pit...vagina! It is indeed a disturbing theme. That's it, your next song must have a chorus of "Pit Pit Vagina." I would write it except that I have no musical talent whatsoever.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-10-06 16:21:47
god is sending you a message.
-------------------------------

previous | next