2007-09-18

For tha ladeez

As some folks may know, I had me a fairly scary summer.

In the time between the routine breast exam performed by my primary care physician back in July, to last night at approximately 8:45 PM when I got the results of my biopsy, I have learned more about breast health, and about being shuttled through our current health care system, than I really imagined possible. I opted not to go into it all here on this site, but if you really want all the nasty details I'll be happy to spill.

The short version? I have a lump. It's benign. I am going to have to be monitored fairly carefully from here on out, but I don't have cancer.

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Personally, I despise pink ribbons and rubber bracelets, but the events of this summer have made me want to get involved in education and activism where this is concerned.

1) Feel yourself up, girls. And not just a li'l squeeze here and there. Go at it with vim and vigor. Go at it like a 14-year-old boy who's a novice and thinks he might be able to tune in 'FNX if he twists hard enough. If you feel anything "weird," CALL YOUR DOCTOR. Don't worry if you think you're overreacting. You're not. Breast cancer is the Number Two killer of women.

2) Ask questions. My number one mistake was meekly accepting the order to get a mammogram from my doctor, and then attempting to navigate the rest of this journey by myself. Get your questions answered from the get-go and DO NOT ASSUME that the people who will be poking, prodding, jabbing and smashing your hooters are going to know or even ask what your questions and concerns are.

3) Assert yourself. After my biopsy, if I hadn't finally asked someone what I was supposed to do, after more than an hour of sitting in a waiting room bleeding through my hospital johnny, I likely would've sat there unnoticed for the rest of the day.

4) Talk to someone who's been through it, if you can. If you don't personally know someone who's been there, get online and find a discussion group. They have message boards for Leif Garrett fans, for fuck's sake. You can find a board for breast cancer survivors.

5) Breathe. Take a step back. If you're anything like me (and I hope to Christ you're not, because I wouldn't wish my brain on my worst enemy) you will FREAK THE FUCK OUT at the drop of a hat. Everything will make you upset. Pollution, dead squirrels, preempted television programs, Fleetwood Mac. It will all make you batshit insane if you don't keep it in check.

6) Laugh. Because boobs are funny. Everyone loves boobs.


http://nbcam.org/

lisamcc at 6:13 p.m.



6 comments so far
Andrea
2007-09-18 19:58:22
That's fucking scary, but I'm so glad it turned out well. This is a great PSA for the boobies. And I'll throw something else out there- colonoscopies. I am only 35, but I had to have a colonoscopy a few months ago. Not the most fun I've ever had, but neither is ass cancer (which I don't have, THANK ALL THAT IS HOLY). If you think something is wrong, then ask away. Check your boobs, check your ass. It's worth any temporary embarrassment. I'm so glad everything's okay, Lisa.
-------------------------------

Westbye
2007-09-18 20:15:49
Stay strong, girl. I'll take your lead and touch my balls. Play with my balls. So I don't get cancer.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2007-09-19 11:29:34
I am very happy that you do not have cancer. And I second the bit about not being passive around doctors. Too many people see the white coat and think they are talking to some kind of infallible demi-god. Nothing could be further from the truth. Ten years ago I had massive fibroid tumors (which 30% of women over 30 have and yet they don't know what causes them, natch, because medical researchers don't give a fuck about women and their infernal plumbing) and surgery was required to remove them because they were so large they were causing massive hemorrhaging. If I hadn't figured out that it was time to assert myself, they would've removed my uterus along with my fibroids. Because it was easier for them that way. And besides, I was, like, 35 then, and why did I need my uterus anymore? I still have my U, no thanks to the docs! Yay!
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-09-19 14:27:06
I'm so glad to here that you are OK & sorry that you had to go thru that very scary time!, but c'mon, you gotta quit dissin' on The Mac.
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-09-19 14:29:16
Ahhhhh typo, I meant "glad to hear" not "here"
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-09-20 07:51:02
oh my!! Glad to hear all is ok. How scary for you. I had no idea! (but then again, what the hell do I know anyway) ...and shit, my PD (that's short for "PUssy Doctor," don't you know) just gave me the referral slip to go get my first routine mammogram...
-------------------------------

previous | next