2007-08-25

The edge.

Of course, it's the hottest day of the summer, and this is the day we planned to finish the lion's share of the packing. I feel -- and look -- like a burst canister of biscuit dough.

I spent all morning packing up the bedroom, and I look around and -- Jesus God -- there's still so much SHIT. I've hauled out two garbage bags full of old magazines and postcards and little bits of personal flotsam that I couldn't bear to get rid of before. All of my clothes are boxed up or in bags, with the exception of what I'm going to wear this week. And because I have no place to put these items, since my dresser and nightstand are in the new place, I am living out of a laundry basket for the next seven days.

I am really trying to avoid having another dark night of the soul over here. It'll get done, because it HAS to get done.

[And for the love of all that is holy, PLEASE don't anyone tell me AGAIN to "just hire someone," as if this hasn't already occurred to us. 1) First, last and agent fees fucked us in the ass without kissing us beforehand, financially speaking. At best, we could afford to lure one or two of the Saturday AM "regulars" out of Griffin's Pub down the street. 2) We're moving on SEPTEMBER FIRST. Even the "two dudes with a pickup" types on craigslist have been booked for this date since before the vernal equinox. Yes, I've checked. I have sent bulletins, emails -- everything short of my going on cable access wearing nothing but pasties and a backwards thong -- trying to get people to help us, either for what we can afford to pay at this point, or for pizza and our sparkling personalities. I appreciate the advice; I understand that it would be VASTLY preferable to have someone take care of this for me. But every time I hear "why don't you hire someone?" -- from relatives, coworkers, and acquaintances -- it just makes me feel shittier.]

Okay. Rant over. Things could be worse. A week from now -- come hell or high water -- I'll be in my spiffy new place. And I don't mind UNpacking at all. I'm looking forward to making the place our own.

lisamcc at 3:47 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next