2007-08-22

Checks and balances

So....have I mentioned that on top of everything else, we're moving in less than a week-and-a-half?

I feel like I'm on a brakeless train, hurtling towards Surrealville, population: fish. We've been bringing a few boxes over to the new place here and there, and each time I still can't quite get my head around the fact that this is where I'm going to be living in 10 days.

And then we go back to our current dwelling, where there are still some pictures on the walls and where our towels are still hanging in the bathroom and it's even more bizarre to think that in 10 days, I won't be living here anymore. We've been here for ten years, as long as I've lived anywhere, pretty much. And as much as I keep saying that I can't wait to get out of this place, with its pathetic kitchen and its banging pipes and its funky mojo, it's going to be weird locking that door behind me for the final time on September 1.

There are definitely things I'm going to miss. I'm going to miss the porch, which served as an extra living room in the spring and summer months. As run-down as the place was, it did have its charm. I'll miss the old school radiators hissing during the winter (and I suspect that my plants are going to miss that as well). I'll miss having a washer and dryer in the building, although we intend to remedy this in the new place in fairly short order; we have a hookup in the kitchen, and we're going to get one of those piggyback jobs with the inheritance I received when my Auntie Marge passed away (Marge was eminently practical, and would approve of this purchase).

But beyond that....there are a lot more things that I'm NOT going to miss, boy howdy.

I won't miss having to cross the Sea Of Putrid Humanity known as Washington Street, where one must dodge at least eight kinds of miscreants engaged in all manner of shady doings at all hours of the day.

I won't miss playing "count the empties" along the sidewalk as I head to the train station, and I won't miss the resigned faces of the local business owners as they hose off the vomit from the sidewalks in front of their establishments every morning.

I won't miss the houseful of BSO musicians next door. Some of you may think me a Philistine, indeed, for muttering darkly about living next to classically trained musicians. While it's arguably preferable to living next door to, say, a novice guitarist (he actually lives across the street), let me say in my defense that these people are not treating us to impromptu recitals of the Brandenburg Concertos. No, what they tend to do is play endless scales at odd hours of the night. One of them, in recent months, has inexplicably decided to take up the steel drum, and prefers to practice this newfound interest very early on Sunday mornings.

I won't miss the daily battles at these same neighbors' birdfeeder, between the squirrels and the blue jays. It's like fuckin' West Side Story out there every morning. I have really learned to hate blue jays, living here. They're the frat jocks of the bird world. And the squirrels...my God. Fearless. There was a big fat one hanging out on the porch this morning, chawing away on some sort of pod-like thing that it had found in the backyard. Now, the houseboy hates squirrels more than he does the current administration, truly, and when he saw this brash display of utter disregard for personal property, he was apoplectic. He stood there, in his suit and tie, staring out the kitchen window, outraged. "You impertinent little bastard," he sputtered, before heading out onto the porch to shoo it away. And when he did get out there, the squirrel just stared at him impassively, like, "im on ur porch, chewin ur podz...what r u gonna do about it, N00Bz?" They're bold as fuck around here, for real.

Of course, I'm sure we're in for a whole new set of issues at the new place, but I am willing to overlook all of this since our kitchen is so awesome. Let's review that particular benefit again, shall we?


lisamcc at 12:05 p.m.



2 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2007-08-22 13:13:40
You bitch! You showed the kitchen AGAIN! I'm so jealous of that freaking kitchen I could spit bile! Seriously! What is up with that fucking gorgeous sink unit thing? I want one! Goddammit!
-------------------------------

Melanie
2007-08-22 16:03:51
We close on our condo tomorrow and move on the 28th. We're 5 years in this place, and I'm with you on the "gonna miss/SO will NOT miss" thing. But we're moving into brand new construction, and doubling our square footage, number of baths, closets...you name it. And your kitchen is dead sexy.
-------------------------------

previous | next