2007-05-19

An experiment.

...you want to have some REAL FUN on a rainy Saturday, clean out your kitchen cabinets.

Anyone who can tell me why I had the following items wins, uh, my utmost admiration:

2 cans of creamed corn
1 can of sliced beets
1 tin of spicy sardines

Did I decide that I was 76 years old whilst shopping one day? I halfway expected to find a box of RIBBON CANDY as well.

Also, I would be willing to bet cash money that every last one of you has a can of pumpkin pie filling somewhere in the dark recesses of your pantry. Go on - check. I'll wait.

lisamcc at 6:14 p.m.



5 comments so far
Houseboy
2007-05-19 22:40:05
I don't know about the creamed corn, but the beets I picked up by mistake because I thought they were cranberry sauce, and the sardines just seemed like a good idea for a snack at the time (but at no time since). And yes, I do turn into a 76 year old man when I do the shopping.
-------------------------------

Momma
2007-05-20 12:50:26
Unless you had a recipe for corn bread or chowder, can't think of a reason to buy creamed corn, unless you were feeling a bit "nostalgic" for your childhood. Think I foisted the aforementioned condiment on you poor kids more than once...probably with frozen fish stix and tater tots, right? Drain and chop up the beets and toss into a salad...not bad...spicey sardines? Houseboy, what were you thinking? Love ya'...see you soon.
-------------------------------

Momma
2007-05-20 12:52:13
Almost forgot, yes, I do have that can of pumpkin...bought it for Christmas dinner...never used it...have to use it this week as we clean out all the foodstuffs...even have a frozen pie shell...huzzah, pumpkin pie!!
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2007-05-21 12:03:49
No on the pumpkin pie filling, but I do have a can of sweetened condensed milk that I believe dates back to the Carter administration.
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-05-21 13:44:29
I just had a can of sardines in Louisianna hot sauce this past Friday. I guess that makes me 76.
-------------------------------

previous | next