2007-05-14

Today's Confession.

Nobody is more deeply entrenched in the 80's than I.  The majority of music on my iPod was produced between 1980 and 1988.  The opening bars of Howard Jones's "Things Can Only Get Better" still make the hairs on my arm stand on end.  I loves me my Thompson Twins, Scritti Politti, and Flock o' Seagulls.  If I could get away with it, I would rock a giant pompadour, thoroughly encrusted with colored mousse, at the office (actually, I probably could get away with it -- such a 'do would likely be met with thunderous applause in the Finance Department -- but you can't hardly find the colored mousse other than at Halloween nowadays).


That being said, I do seem to be missing some crucial strand of DNA, or else I am afflicted with some chromosomal deformity which keeps me from being a true Product Of My Time.


I don't "get" Roxy Music.


More to the point, I don't have that...thing...for Bryan Ferry that most women of my age and sociological background seem to have.  Frankly, I don't understand it.  To me, Bryan Ferry is like the bastard love child of Kyle MacLachlan and Fred Gwynne.  To wit:





+



=



Am I alone in thinking this way?  I suspect that I am.  Almost all of my female friends of a certain age have enormous ladyboners for Ferry.  To me, he's about as enticing as Frankenberry in a zoot suit.


And please don't tell me to go listen to "Manifesto" or "Love Is The Drug" or whatever album totally changed the way you listened to music, man.  Roxy Music radically altered the musical landscape and were wittily literate and influenced at least three-quarters of the stuff on my iPod and blah blah blah.  I get it.  I know.  I just can't bring myself to sit in a little puddle of my own making over them.  There's something WRONG with me.

lisamcc at 6:55 p.m.



3 comments so far
Tina
2007-05-17 13:11:44
I'm must be super out of the loop. Not only am I not hot for him, I have never in my life heard of him. I need to stop watchingi so much Noggin.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2007-05-15 12:01:46
You're right. I never thought about it before, but Ferry is to women of a certain age like Morrissey is to men of that same age.
-------------------------------

Honey
2007-05-18 20:08:11
Who?
-------------------------------

previous | next