2007-05-09

You learn something new every day...

A coworker of mine recently tried to redeem a coupon for a free smoothie at her local participating Dunkin' Donuts�, which - as it turned out - was unable to perform in a participatory capacity, because it was a "kosher" establishment.

"But...wait...how is a smoothie not kosher?" my coworker inquired of the manager.

"Well, uh, smoothies contain pork fat."

HOLD THE FUCKING PHONE.

I mean, maybe if you're getting a Campbells� Beanie Weenie Smoothie, I could see the need for a dash of pig product. But last I checked, your standard smoothie goes a little like this:

Yogurt

Fruit

Crushed ice

I assume that the pork fat being folded into your Chocobananaberry Deeeelite� is some kind of "volume extender agent." But, you know, I'm not even a vegetarian and that makes me say: "Ick."

It's sort of a moot point for me, because anyone who knows me moderately well knows that I venture not into Dunkin' Donuts� if I can avoid it. Their coffee is gross, their donuts are gross, and I wouldn't get a smoothie there because -- as is the case with "specialty drinks" -- it would likely have more grams of sugar than a double-boiler full Karo-coated Cap'n Crunch. And that's for a small.

lisamcc at 11:58 a.m.



5 comments so far
Houseboy
2007-05-09 15:17:50
You know what else has pork fat in it? Coffee jello. In fact, it has the same ingredient that puts the pork fat in smoothies: gelatin. It's not really made from horses' hooves, it's made from rendered pig parts.
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-05-10 11:51:23
I always thought Dunkin Donuts coffee looked like hot dog water. You know - the brown water in the pot after you boil some weenies.
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-05-10 11:53:55
I always thought Dunkin Donuts coffee looked like hot dog water. You know - the brown water in the pot after you boil some weenies. ...and yeah, I quit eating gelatin products years ago....nasty. A lot of low-fat yogurt has gelatin in it, check the ingredients.
-------------------------------

Spooney
2007-05-10 11:54:50
sorry, didn't mean to post twice, nothing happened the 1st time.
-------------------------------

Honey
2007-05-11 21:50:37
Of all the things I don't want to drink, pork fat is about 50 of them. Shit, eating it is bad enough.
-------------------------------

previous | next