2007-03-10

Mouse-eye's view of LA.

I'd like you all to meet someone very special to me.

Relationships come and go. People flit in and out of my life like fruitflies. Some hover around for a bit, others move on to the next bowl of cubed cantaloupe. But there has been one constant, for me, and I am blessed to have him.

Meet Mousie.



My daddy brought Mousie back for me from a business trip. I was four, and it was love at first sight. I made a vow in my tiny, barely-post-toddler brain that Mousie and I would always be together, no matter what. Mousie went with me when we were evacuated from our flooded house during the Blizzard of '78. Mousie went to college, where he sat on my bookshelf, next to my dog-eared copy of "The Bell Jar" (sob!). Mousie absorbed my many tears, shed over myriad subjects ranging from mean girls to unresponsive boyfriends to early sobriety. And he has accompanied me on every single trip I've ever taken. For such a well-travelled little guy, he's held up remarkably well.

Of course, Mousie went along with me on my recent jaunt to Los Angeles. I made the mistake of admitting this, when I was out to dinner with - among others - PK, Spooney, and Bleu. Bleu was intrigued. "So this is like a Beanie Baby or something?"
"Well, he kind of pre-dates that whole thing. I've had him since I was four."
"Okay, so you've basically been dragging around this 32-year-old, battered, BACTERIA-LADEN beanbag mouse."
"YES, Mr. Utterly Devoid of Sentimentality. Jesus."
"I'm just saying."
"You're a BIG JERK, Bleu."

Anyway, thanks to the magic of digital photography, you are able to experience the City of Angels, all Mousie-style.

Mousie on Hollywood Boulevard:




Mousie at Grauman's:


And, of course, Mousie at the Haunted Mansion:


There will, of course, be a less Mousie-centric travelogue forthcoming. Stay tuned.

lisamcc at 9:35 p.m.



5 comments so far
The Wizard of Samoset
2007-03-11 00:57:59
Wow... I cannot believe you still have that thing. That is impressive packratting... even for a McColgan.
-------------------------------

cardiogirl
2007-03-11 07:52:51
I love Mousie at the Haunted Mansion. You can tell he's cool, the way his tail just hangs over the railing and such. Also Mousie on Bob Newhart's star. Very chic. Now you know you're inviting your friends to kidnap him and then photograph him blindfolded on a current newspaper, don't you?
-------------------------------

Lisa
2007-03-11 11:45:00
Hey, "Wizard" - this transcends packrattery. This is loyalty, o brother of mine. Dedication, even. Or something. What a shitty Buddhist I'd make.
-------------------------------

mumma
2007-03-13 10:54:44
My favorite site for Mousie has to be Wally Cox...and I like to think I know why you chose that particular star... Anyway, he looks like he had a good time... your pics remind me of your sister's travel photos with Teddy at Stonhenge. Gawd, you kids are so weird and I'm absolutely so proud of you.
-------------------------------

Tina
2007-03-13 19:45:31
That would be SEBASTIAN at Stonehenge, mother. And, yes, Seb has seen many sights - up to and including the Sydney Opera House and by the water in Venice. Though, Sebastian made his debut when I was 14. Mousie has been around much longer. Though, I do still sleep with Sebastian.
-------------------------------

previous | next