2007-02-19

A life worth celebrating...

A few years back, my friend's grandmother passed away. "Memaw" (my friend is a Texan to the core) was in her nineties, and for the last couple of years she'd been preparing her children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren for the inevitable. "Memaw's real tired," she would say.

Having shared an office with my friend for some time and hearing her "back home" stories, I felt like I knew Memaw, and was saddened to learn of her passing. "I'm so sorry," I said.

"Don't be. That's nuthin' to be sad about. That's a life worth celebratin' and that's what we're fixin' to do. We should all be so lucky."

I was momentarily stunned by her response, but I realized that she was, as usual, absolutely right.

My great-aunt Margueriette passed away yesterday. She was 101. Auntie Marge was feisty and independent all the way up to the end; until she took ill earlier this month, she lived in her own house. She remembered EVERYTHING; the seemingly limitless depths of her memory vaults never ceased to astound me. I have enough trouble remembering where I've put my wallet, but Marge remembered where you worked, where your dad worked, and where HIS dad worked, and could probably also tell you the make and the model of the car he drove and exactly where he parked it every morning. She would have long talks with my houseboy about matters concerning local and national politics, and the state legislature. She remembered everyone's birthday, although at a certain point around 20 years ago or so the gift checks stopped accompanying the cards, because - in her words - "I didn't expect that I'd be around this long."

Her 100th birthday party was the summer before last. It was a nice party, hosted by my cousin Ray. My mother sang "Danny Boy" and there wasn't a dry eye in the house, well, save for my then-3-year-old niece, who I was minding at the far end of the yard. In the midst of all this, Chloe turned to me and said, with grave solemnity: "I can burp forever, you know." And proceeded to demonstrate.

At the end of the party, we all received a little card. It contained the copy of the original text of a little prayer composed and given to Marge when she graduated high school in 1922. It was written by a Sister Lawrence, and I can't help but believe that the reason Marge lived as long as she did, as WELL as she did, was because she took this advice.

A Prayer
Lord, Thou knowest better than I know myself, that I am growing older and will some day be old.
Keep me from getting talkative, and particularly from the fatal habit of thinking I must say something on every subject and on every occasion.
Release me from craving to try to straighten out everybody's affairs.
Keep my mind free from the recital of endless details -- give me wings to get to the point.
I ask for grace enough to listen to the tales of others' pains. Help me to endure them with patience.
But seal my lips on my own aches and pains -- they are increasing and my love of rehearsing them is becoming sweeter as the years go by.
Teach me the glorious lesson that occasionally it is possible that I may be mistaken.
Keep me reasonably sweet; I do not want to be a saint -- some of them are so hard to live with -- but a sour old woman is one of the crowning works of the devil.
Make me thoughtful, but not moody; helpful, but not bossy. With my vast store of wisdom, it seems a pity not to use it all -- but Thou knowest, Lord, that I want a few friends at the end.

It's never an exactly joyous occasion when a family member passes on, but Marge's was - truly - a life worth celebrating. As my friend said, man, we should all be so lucky.

lisamcc at 9:23 a.m.



4 comments so far
Mom
2007-02-19 11:25:36
Thank you, Honey...you really paid a beautiful tribute to a beautiful lady. She would love it.
-------------------------------

Lexi
2007-02-19 20:00:04
For a lot of reasons, this is exactly what I needed to hear right now. I love it. Just by passing on that prayer, you've put Aunt Margueriette's life force into the hearts and minds of a whole group! There's the whole philosophical thing about making your mark on the world by what you leave behind and how many people you've touched...so...you know...well done. 101?? That's my new favorite superhero.
-------------------------------

Tina
2007-02-20 19:38:00
This was what I posted on my twinsite about Auntie Marge... Hey all! Some of you may remember two summers ago when I flew out with Chloe to Montana to celebrate my Auntie Marge's 100th birthday. Well, she passed away on Sunday. She was 101 years and 7 months. She was living on her own up until 1 1/2 weeks ago. She was amazing and lived a wonderful life, surrounded by those who loved her. She never married or had children of her own, but took to her brothers' kids and their grandchildren as thought they were her own. She sent me Christmas cards and Christmas gifts up until I had Chloe. After that, she sent Christmas cards and gifts to my own children each year. Say a quick prayer for her, please, that she is reunited with her friends and family already up in heaven!
-------------------------------

buzzgirl
2007-02-20 20:08:23
Amen. That was a beautiful memorial. It's great knowing you have such longevity in your family.
-------------------------------

previous | next