2007-01-26

Everyone likes a happy ending.

Working as I do in a cubefarm, I'm privy to the phone conversations of my colleagues (or at least their side of the conversation; it can be rather fun to imagine the other side). The other day, my friend took a call from one of our patrons, who was taking her granddaughter to our production of The Cherry Orchard, and was concerned that it would be "too sad" a story for the girl to process.

"Well, um, it's not what I would call a HAPPY ending, Mrs. Brahmin, but it's...hopeful. (pause) Mmhmm. (pause) Mmhmm. (pause) Yes, I saw it last weekend, and I wasn't, you know, BUMMED OUT when I left the theatre, no. (pause) I think she'll be fine with it, really. (pause) OK. (pause) Nice speaking with you, too, Mrs. Brahmin. Bye-bye now."

I looked over at my friend as she hung up. "You should have told her that we changed the ending to make it happier. You should have said, 'Oh, they get to keep the cherry orchard. They find the cherry preserves recipe that Firs couldn't remember, and they make a fortune from it, and then they build a THEME PARK...'"

The Education Department intern on the other side burst out laughing.

I went on, inspired. "...and you know what -- we're gonna do West Side Story next season, only in OUR version, Tony doesn't really die. He FAKES getting shot by Chino, and then he and Maria run off to the country and start a PUPPY FARM. Because everyone likes puppies. Everyone likes puppies, and happy endings."

My friend Naheem peered over into my cube and shook his head. "Lord, I work with CRAZY people."

lisamcc at 8:18 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next