2006-08-30

Off the wagon...

So, 'member a few entries back when I was all "I don't drink coffee anymore"?

Yeah. That kind of didn't last. I - how you say? - fell off that wagon and tumbled right into the arms of Juan Valdez.

I was downtown, it was a nice sunny Sunday morning and I just REALLY wanted a cup of coffee to go with my newspaper. So I did it. I ordered a huge latte and I drank the whole thing.

It went down so tenderly that I nearly wept.

And then, plagued with guilt, I called the houseboy. "I had a CUP OF COFFEE...I couldn't help myself!"

He didn't see what the big deal was.

And I guess it really isn't a big deal. It's not like I even gave up caffeine. I just gave up ingesting it in that particular form. I wasn't waking up covered in old grounds, wondering what I'd said the night before. I wasn't lying about how many lattes I'd had. I wasn't hiding empty Starbucks cups in my panty drawer. I just sort of....stopped, and I never really was entirely clear on the reason why.

Goin' out for a medium milk-no-sugar. Want anything?

PS - the new Brett Rosenberg rekkid is very very good. Go get it.

lisamcc at 11:35 a.m.



1 comments so far
buzzgirl
2006-08-30 12:44:09
You know, I'm probably one of the few people from Seattle who doesn't drink coffee. I find it too bitter - though I will eat coffee ice cream. Okay, let's face it: I'll eat most any ice cream. So it's safe to assume that you're permanently back on the stuff now?
-------------------------------

previous | next