2006-08-09

No Coffee

It occurs to me that I have not let you chickens in on my latest "doing without." This is wrong of me.

I'll tell you now: coffee.

I have not had so much as a drop since January 1, 2006.

This is not to say that I've cut out caffeine. I have a cup of Irish Breakfast tea in the morning, and a soda now and then. But no coffee.

It was actually a lot easier than I thought, mainly because I was still getting enough caffeine from the tea to offset any unpleasant side effects.

And for the most part, I feel much better. Although I very nearly cracked the other day and bought myself a latte -- for the past week or so, I've been feeling SUPER run-down, like I just cannot get enough sleep. "I think I have Epstein-Barr or something," I said to the houseboy, "You know, the Stevie Nicks disease."

"Huh. Do you need me to blow cocaine up your ass with a straw?"

"C'mon. I'm serious. I'm just SO tired all the time lately."

"Then you should call your doctor."

He's no fun. It's much more interesting to diagnose myself.

Anyway, the no-coffee thing has proven entertaining to my highschoolfriend Bob, who regarded me with a bemused smirk as I ordered a bottled water with my lunch a few weeks back. "How can you drink that stuff? It doesn't taste like anything." This from a guy who's lived on a steady diet of Dunkin' Donuts coffee, Marlboro Lights, and candy bars since 1985. I can prove this.

"Shut up, Bob."

Have I become NO FUN or something? No alcohol, no coffee, no cable tv? Next thing you know, I'll have moved to an ashram and eschewed my crappy magazines...

lisamcc at 9:51 a.m.



1 comments so far
Jess
2006-08-09 12:48:08
I'm right there with you. Only green tea for me (and I even have to give THAT up because of the Adderall!). And poor Mr. Pibb has recently given up his beloved Mr. Pibb & Dr. Pepper when the Pibb isn't available. (am I going to have to change his name?) He's not a coffee drinker but gets (got, actually) his caffein from soda. The poor guy also just discovered that some of the supplements he's been taking ALSO have caffein in them. So, here he was thinking he wan't addicted when he'd probably been intaking a ton every day... between the soda & supplements. He's going through withdrawels now. Fun!
-------------------------------

previous | next